Motivation logo

Taking Control of My Life

A quick guide

By BevPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Taking Control of My Life
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Obligation. Have you ever felt an unwilling obligation that you have placed upon yourself? Compelling yourself to complete an unfulfilling task or a stay at an unsatisfying job?

This week, I quit my sales job (midday) and headed home. Before I dialled my manager’s number, I asked myself “why am I working a job that I hate”? I spent four years studying for a degree that I was barely interested in, so why should I continue to waste my time investing in an opportunity I see no possible future in?

Although I think the skills I learned are valuable and transferable, I believe that at some point, as a person who doesn’t know what the hell they’re doing with their life, I should sit down and figure out an action plan. Working smarter, not harder. Yes, working to gain substantial experience to help you further down the line or to pay your bills is the smart thing to do but it’s easy to lose sight of what’s important.

My last job role not only taught me effective techniques to sell broadband but how to practice indifference when handling rejection, how to maintain a great attitude, and how to assert myself with confidence. The in-depth training I received was advantageous in all aspects of life. For example, the 8 working habits were brought to light and was used heavily to emphasise the components of a successful person:

1. Have a great attitude

2. Be on time

3. Be prepared

4. Work a full day 100%

5. Maximise your territory

6. Maintain your attitude

7. Know what you are doing and why you are doing it

8. Finally, TAKE CONTROL

Now the last element is my favourite because I have not given it much thought before. During training, we were taught by team leaders how to establish control with potential customers by problem-solving on the spot to meet their needs and use the power of suggestion to recommend solutions.

So how can I apply this notion to my own life?

Taking control is about doing what you desire, at your own pace. It also requires listening to yourself and how you feel. While brainstorming career paths and ways to success are effective, considering your emotions can be fruitful too. When we approach customers, we read them, study their vibrations to decide if they're the slightest bit interested in the product you're selling. I believe we should practise reading ourselves and have a sense of self-awareness, as well as acting on our emotions because, at the end of the day, you can't do something well if you're unhappy. Although acting on your emotions is frowned upon, it makes complete sense to strive for happiness.

success
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.