Motivation logo

Sunday Quote Of The Day (Take A Job You Love)

- David Stidston

By David StidstonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
"There comes a time when you ought to start doing what you want. Take a job that you love. You will jump out of bed in the morning. I think you are out of your mind if you keep taking jobs that you don't like because you think it will look good on your resume. Isn't that a little like saving up sex for your old age?" - Warren Buffet

For over 21 years, I worked in the corporate world, with about 85% of that being on a full time basis. The first 7 years weren't too bad, as I was generating some great success, whilst progressing nicely up the corporate ladder. By the age of 25 though, I had already had enough. I was sick and tired of the early mornings, I was sick and tired of nasty bosses, I was sick and tired of defending the companies I worked for, for their mistakes, I was sick and tired of being paid such a low income for my time and hard work, and above all, I was sick and tired of the job itself. I got to the stage where I started hating my job. What option did I have though, as after all, I needed an income in order to survive? Like most other people believe, the solution lay within changing jobs, so I did. I moved on to a commission based sales job, which was a massive failure, so I job hopped again. I started working within a financial institution, which was also very unrewarding and unfulfilling, but because I was progressing up the chain again, I stuck with it. In still not finding job satisfaction, I job hopped again, this time to a different financial institution. Once more, I made some great progression up the line, that's until I hit the point where after 14 years of working in jobs that were starting to overwhelm me with unhappiness and dissatisfaction, I entered into a time of depression. I had reached the point where I hated my job so much, that it was having a massive negative impact on my life, and my health. I ended up speaking with a psychologist, in order to help me overcome my depression, and she insisted that I quit my job immediately, as it was having a dire impact on my health. The thought of quitting was extremely enticing, but I knew that I couldn't just cut off my income stream, plus the fact that I didn't want to be a dole bludger, so I went against her advice. After trying to push through another 7 years of suffering, continuing on working full time in a job I seriously despised, I finally saw the light, and I handed in my resignation.

My resignation came much to the disgust of my wife at the time, my mother, some of my friends, and my relatives, even despite the fact they knew very well that I was suffering immensely with my mental health. "Get another job", they kept saying. "You're not being a very good husband", "You're not being a very good father", "You're making life harder for yourself", "You can't go through life without a job", were some words of criticism and harassment that I began to receive from those around me. Now I didn't resign from my corporate job to become a dole bludger, as I instead started up my own business, working from home. I had never ran my own business before, so the world of entrepreneurship was new to me, as indeed the industry I chose to enter into. It's fair to say that I wasn't achieving the results I had intended to obtain, which opened the door for more and more criticism, as the months passed by. Even today, I still receive this criticism, to the point where many relatives, family members, and friends, have now become extremely personal and downright nasty, even where many such people have distanced themselves from me. After 18 months of a failed business enterprise, I switched to a different business venture in early 2019, and although I am nowhere near where I want to be with results, things are starting to look much brighter. Like any entrepreneur would know, businesses don't normally take off overnight. In fact, they can take up to a handful of years to really start generating some decent results. Even despite the financial struggles, the lack of support, the criticism, the sacrifices, the failures, and having parted ways with many of those dear to me in life, the decision I made back in August 2017, was still one of the best decisions I have ever made. Why? Because I have finally reached a point in my life where I enjoy my work. I have finally discovered job satisfaction. I have found something I am passionate about.

One of the most frustrating things in life to me now, is hearing people go on about how much they hate their job, and they don't enjoy what they do, and yet they don't do anything about it. It's that fixed mindset that people have, exactly like I did for all those number of years, that having a job is the only option for an income, and you have to settle for whatever is available. No you don't! Why settle for working 45 years of your life, doing something you hate? That's a waste of life! I'm annoyed with myself that I wasted at least 14 years of my life, before I finally discovered wisdom. The simple fact is, if you're not happy with the job you are working in, then quit it! Three words that I am a massive advocate for, and they are "pursue your passion". You don't have to settle for any old job, just because you believe it's your only legal avenue to earning an income. Within you lies greatness, potential, skill, talent, initiative, and creativity. If there's no job available that you are passionate about, then get clear on your passion, and turn it into a business venture. I make it sound easy, yeah? Well no, it's certainly not that, and it takes years of hard work, sacrifice, suffering, patience, resilience, and opposition, but it definitely becomes all worth it. You just have to believe in yourself and dedicate yourself to creating success from it. Perhaps your passion does lie within the corporate world, but you don't have the required qualifications to enter into it? Then get qualified! The things we desire in life do require us to make sacrifices. If it means we have to go back and do a couple of years of study, then do it. Do you really want to reach your senior years and reflect back on your life with regret in thinking "why did I waste all those precious years doing something that I hated?"? Take a job you love, or start a business in which you have a passion for, but whatever you do, don't make the same mistake as I did for all those wasted years, and remain working in a job that you hate, and one that makes you unhappy! Have the courage, the will power, and the drive to pursue your passion!

#Sunday #SundayMotivation #motivation #quote #work #job #LoveYourJob #IHateMyJob #career #business #entrepreneurship #enjoyment #satisfaction #fulfillment #happiness #courage #willpower #passion #PursueYourPassion #talent #skill #creativity #patience #HardWork #sacrifice #suffering #WindOfChangeNow

advice
Like

About the Creator

David Stidston

My name is David Stidston, and I live in the beautiful city of Hobart, in Tasmania, Australia. My aim is to inspire and motivate as many people as possible, to pursue their goals, and create a future blessed with happiness and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.