Motivation logo

Struggle

The Lost Art

By Robin PersonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Thank God we don’t look like what we’ve been through.

Most people would say that they at some point in their lives have had to struggle. Adversity is an ever present part of our lives: trying to make ends meet, building our futures and families, and day to day living. At one time or another through our lives it will be, or has been, a struggle to get to where we want to see ourselves.

Don’t feel bad. We all go through it! And it is ok. How do I know that it is ok, you ask? It is because you are here right now! Which means you made it—your struggles did not take you out! I am a firm believer that through adversity we find strength and we see what we are truly capable of. You are strong, you made it! You’re here! Remember that...

Something that I found out through my own personal struggles is that not only am I strong, but I actually learned something. At first it was hard to see. Many of you may also feel the same way that I have felt. “Life can not really be this bad?” Or “Why am I continuing this same struggle over and over again?” It’s because you have not learned the lesson you were supposed to learn! Many times we let our emotions get in the way of the lesson. If things are getting hard enough that you cannot see your way out, I challenge to you write down what you are going through. Why is it that you are struggling? What have you learned from this experience?

For example, when I was a little girl, I taught myself to ride a bike. Some tried to help, but were unsuccessful. I learned better from my own mistakes. After I learned to ride the bike, I also learned to fix the bike when it broke down because no one knew how to do that part. So because I learned to ride the bike, I was forced to learn to fix the bike and now I can show my children how to ride a bike and fix a bike. This lesson was learned through my own personal struggle.

This simple struggle also taught me that everyone would not be able to help me during my hardships. That I would have to often times tough it out alone! So in this regard my lessons were even better. Because no physical person could helped me through my struggles or guide me, the lessons were well learned and they stuck with me! When I fell and picked myself up, I said, “I’ll remember not to ever do that again.” Or I jotted down in my memory bank, “Hey this works!” I challenge you to reflect on the lessons you’ve learned. Write a list of what good came out of it despite the hardship you were facing.

Focus on the good! It is not all bad. It truly helps to program your brain. I know it sounds cliche but in many of the hardest times in my life simply focusing on what was good and what I had to be thankful for helped. So last but not leastm find something good, even if it’s the tiniest thing and hold it in your mind. If it helps, reflect back on a time in which it was All GOOD! What did you feel? Hold on to that feeling.

These are just a few things that have helped me as a single mother, as a student, and as a business owner. For more help as well as inspiration through your struggles, contact me via email @ [email protected]

advice
Like

About the Creator

Robin Person

I  used to think of myself as just a single mom struggling to make it. But now see myself as a fighter. I'm both empowered and strengthened by the "struggle"

I truly do believe with all my heart that to whom much is given much is required

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.