Motivation logo

Still had work to do

Led by determination and faith

By That’s Avi QueenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

In 2019 I was run over by a car and left for dead on I-35 Interstate. I had so many plans before this tragedy struck. My bestfriend had a flight for Vegas booked months in advance and now I lay near lifeless in a hospital bed. I remember waking up from my coma and the first face I saw was NeNe's. She smiled and I smiled back not knowing where I was nor what had transpired. I wasn't aware that I'd even been hit by a car. I couldn't remember. I was blessed to not have felt anything when it happened. When I realized that there were a doctor and nurse in the room, the location automatically dawned on me. I was in a hospital! I looked down and noticed the restraint on my neck. I finally gained the courage to ask "what happened to me". NeNe replied, "Sis you were hit by a car". I couldn't believe what I was hearing. Suddenly, I begin to laugh and said with ease, "but they didn't finish the job". NeNe laughed too but her laugh was of surprise. The doctor explained further and then told me what damage was done. A broken clavicle bone, two fractured ribs, and a broken pelvic bone. I was blessed to be alive. The doctor said I wouldn't be able to walk for at least 6 months but I was determined. Over the next few days, I was visited by my mom, sisters, brothers, uncle, dad, and friends. These visits definitely played a major role in my fast recovery. I was walking again in 2 or 3 days. Even the doctor was in shock. I refused to leave the hospital in a wheelchair weeks later. So I left with crutches. Most people would have curled up in a ball and been afraid of the world from then on but not me. I was laughing and singing. I even made a funny freestyle about how all I could eat was jello due to a small but very painful injury near my chin. After being released from the hospital I desired to get back into the studio and record. With my sister's help, that is exactly what I did. You know what else I did? I got on that plane against medical advice and flew to Vegas. One monkey can't stop this show! We had the time of our lives and since we believe that every experience is an opportunity, we painted the city of Las Vegas purple, gold, and orange. People back home saw us all over social media and couldn't believe we were still at it despite the injuries and that led to me being invited to perform at a show in Downtown Fort Worth a week later. I didn't need nor want anyone to feel sorry for me because I was alive. In fact, once I arrived at the venue I felt more alive than before. Needless to say, I killed it was even highlighted as one of the main attractions. I gave it all I had and I wanted my audience to see beyond the person on stage, I wanted them to feel the pain and passion in my lyrics. I felt the sincere love and admiration from the audience and I was glad that I went through with it. I sang my heart out and gave them a memory that would be hard to forget. The moral to this story is that there is nothing that should stop us from following our dreams not even being moments from death. I can only be me and I am Avi Queen. I can't stop now I still have work to do!

advice
Like

About the Creator

That’s Avi Queen

I AM AVI QUEEN

“Enlightening the world with my pen”

(Akashic)

Empowering Kings and Queens with my testimony and experiences...

(Fire)

Not only a writer but also a songstress with rhythm and flow

(AbraCaDaBra)

“Created to inspire”

(Avrahim)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.