Motivation logo

Staying motivated during a pandemic

How to stay motivated

By Adonis RichardsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Image from pixabay

We’re legitimately living in a historic space. A global pandemic is upon us and it has completely slowed down our world to almost a standstill. For months, we’ve been cooped up into the house, and have been given small liberties and possibilities to go out to functions. This year has brought us much sadness, confusion, fear, and death. For there to be any form of motivation in 2020 would be that of miracles at times. However, there are means to stay motivated. As even though we have all slowed down, there is still a surge of effort and movement happening all over. How can you stay motivated during a global pandemic? I can give you a few ways I do so during this lawless year.

Witness peers succeed

I don’t know it completely, but there is an old saying that you are the company you keep. Well, I like to keep some successful company around me at all times. I’m around a lot of positive people, people striving for their goals, and striving to be the best they possibly can be.

For me, I like being around people who have success around them or succeed in their goals all the time. My best friend just recently received his master’s degree from Cornell. I have a group of friends who all have master’s degrees in various different subjects. A lot of days they push me as peers and as friends to be better each and every day. Sometimes without even knowing that they do. Every time I see them do something, it motivates me. I see it as more of a friendly competition, or more so of friends pushing friends to do better.

Through social media, I have a lot of peers that succeed in their daily lives. Each and every day I applaud them and I use their success as motivation for my own. When you’re around positive energy and people pushing forward, you yourself will push forward.

write down five goals for the day

This will help you create a standard. Writing down five goals, 10 goals, three goals, or even a goal a day can help you in the long run. It sets yourself not necessarily a schedule, but markers throughout your day that you want to accomplish.

For me I write down five goals, what do I want to accomplish today?. A lot of my goals are centered around my writing goals. So I would say for one day edit 6 Poems out of my newest book, write at least one or two stories a day, and post them on various media sites. Write five poems. Apply to five writing jobs. Find 5 business companies to create content for. These will be an example of five goals I have for today. And if I don’t accomplish all five of these goals it’s okay. If I don’t accomplish your 10 goals or 20 goals it’s okay, i’ll set them aside for the next day. Setting goals and meeting them will make you feel a lot more successful in your day. It will also help with your motivation. Goal setting and achieving are great ways to keep you motivated each and every day and pushing forward.

Write down your ultimate goal.

By this I mean write down something that you want in the long run.

For me, I want to become a New York Times bestseller. I set that goal, and I research the steps to reach that. I watched different videos, guru’s Etc trying to figure out how I can reach that.

As an independent writer, it is not an easy task, however, it is a task that I one day will complete.

That ultimate goal will push you, especially when you write it down and place it on your wall in your room somewhere that you can continuously see it each and every day when you wake up.

Think about where you sleep, when you wake up and lift your head, what is the first thing you see? Think about that when you reach your goal down or have your ultimate goal.

Make a mantra

My mantra is that I’m the greatest writer of all time. And I’m not saying that as if I’m measuring some sort of level to the greatness of writing. However, I say that every day to motivate myself to write as best as I possibly can. There’s no level to writing with my eyes at the Spectrum. So you cannot measure the greatness of a writer completely. However my Mantra is that I’m the greatest, it gets me up in the morning and pushes me. It behooves me to test the limits of my writing prowess, and my ability to connect to people through my words. So I say every day I’m the greatest writer of all time.

Write down a mantra, and live by it.

Read up on others in my professional entrepreneurial space

Is important to study the field that you’re in. Understand the nuances of whatever you’re chasing. The business, corporate world, anything that you’re chasing. Learning about others’ greatness and their mistakes, those that have succeeded in those that have failed will be of a great boon to you and your success in whatever field you’re chasing. I’m constantly watching spoken word poetry on YouTube or looking up content writers. As a journalist, I have a few different tabloids I’m subscribed to. Learning the game, taking Falls everything that goes with the experience.

Affirmations

Is always important to give yourself affirmations in the morning. Throughout the day, all the time. Reminding yourself that you are worthy of your existence. Especially in a time when the distance is extremely fragile. There’s been a lot of death and sadness around us in this entire year. However, giving yourself affirmations will remind you of your significance in this world. it is important to a firm that you belong to, it helps you with your motivation. Well, it helps me so hopefully, it can help you. But tell yourself that you are worthy, that you do belong in the space because you do, that you’re worth it.

Take a moment to appreciate my progress

I often sit back and look at the progress I’ve made in my life. If you would have told me that at 20 that I have two degrees and a book and a second one on the way I probably look at you confused. Nowadays I look back and say I’ve accomplished a lot even in that small frame of time. Looking back at your accomplishments even if it’s a small one, and how far you’ve come, can uplift you in ways you can’t even imagine

. Think about where you were before to where you are now. Think about where you’re trying to go. If you look at your accomplishments you can see that you can achieve the goals that you’re striving for now it just takes a matter of time and patience. You’ve done this before, so why can’t you do it now? Look at your accomplishments, look at your achievements, and remember that nothing is out of your reach.

During this global pandemic, motivation is hard to find. Social gatherings are scarce even as the world opens up and gatherings are becoming more frequent. We are still in a rough time. However, you can still find motivation even as the gloomy realities are swallowing us day in and day out. What motivates you? What pushes you?

advice
Like

About the Creator

Adonis Richards

An aspiring writer and journalist looking to motivate people through my writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.