Motivation logo

Stay Gracious

Best Revenge is your-

By Brandon LeePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
START

In ode to the illustrious Queen Yoncé, and the messages/power spread through each one of her songs - I felt compelled to speak on one specifically. As we know Formation, is a powerhouse bop that addresses many issues that were/continue to occur amongst the African-American community.

However, I wanted to take a small part of that without taking away from the original VERY important message, and conceptualize it.

*we love a good concept, am I right?*

The thought of staying gracious. Ironic that I'm writing this on a Sunday, proclaimed the Lord's day. *Disclaimer, this is not an article to boast about God or whatever religious or nonreligious that may or may not exist.* This is simply a think piece about remembering to stay grateful and gracious for the things that keep me balanced, on track, and for the most part, sane when they feel the complete and utter opposite.

I feel most would agree that when you wake up in the morning you have an array of thoughts, feelings, and emotions ranging from "not this bullshit again" to "I can't wait to see what this day has in store for me", and everything in between. Whether you despise your current situation or not, there is always room for growth and appreciation for where you are right now. That appreciation allows you to understand your current state while also opening up the opportunity for deeper introspection about what may need to change for you to reach that next level.

I think we are often remiss on the simple fact that with each day comes a chance for change. It's unnerving waking up feeling stuck in any situation or environment without any exit plan, especially when the initial thought of leaving your house causes you crippling anxiety and tension that engulfs every orpheus of your being. However, we need to remember that the things we can control also represent parts of our lives that can be transformed. If there is no way for us to control the narrative, there is no reason for us to stress it all that leads to is; you guessed it, more stress! We need to rewire our thoughts to make peace with the situation, and move on from it. Now, I know this is much easier said than done - but with a lot of practice and self-awareness it can be done. Hell, it's something I work on every single day. Especially on those days where I feel less than 100 percent. I was watching an interview that Antoni Porowski from Queer Eye did, and one thing that he said really stuck,

if I wake up and feel 60%, I’m going to 100% of that 60%. I don’t have to try and compensate or feel a certain way. It’s all about acceptance.

It's so integral being able to accept the things we do and do not have control over. Allowing ourselves the opportunity to discern between what can be and what is. Everything is temporary, and change is the one thing that we are promised in this life. So when we can accept that, we can continue to work on and eventually master ourselves.

Something that helps me keep me grounded is remembering to be gracious and grateful for the life I get to live. The opportunities that I have been afforded, the situations that I can change, and all the experiences that have yet to come to fruition. This technique helps me stay present, and in the moment. It really is the little things that can make or break your day, I know how cliché that sounds, but having something that can snap you back to reality allows you focus with resilience and resistance to what would otherwise cause distraction.

So always remember, stay gracious best revenge is your - living your best life despite what may trigger you into old habits and behaviors. Allow yourself a moment to see why you are feeling the way you do, compartmentalize it, accept it, let it freely flow from your mind, and keep being the baddie that you were meant to be!

FIN

success
2

About the Creator

Brandon Lee

I feel like I have a lot to say, but not always sure how to voice it. So here's me putting my voice to "paper". Anyways, my name is Brandon, and I enjoy spilling my guts to anyone willing to listen or in this case read!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.