Motivation logo

Start

Walter Buncom

By Walter BPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Start
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Creating Content is something I wanted to start doing. I thought I needed a story or strategy to start creating anything. I did not have any ideas for what to record, especially during this Pandemic we are all facing. I would write ideas down for skecths, or short films ideas but that would be it. I would mostly think about what I would need, to complete these ideas. While working, towards the end of the day I would forget what I need to complete. It created some anxiety and procrastination but I needed to start somewhere.

I am enrolled in a course that in hopes, will land me into becoming a Professional Filmmaking Career. I have grown a liking to this Industry and how visually communitcation can be. I wanted to start recording something to know if it is a real passion. I can always like something but whenever you make time for something you like more than other things in your life. Then it has to be a passion for something that you want to do.

I wasn’t sure if this was something I really like, it wasn’t easy for me to come up with ideas, I do know you do not get better overnight. I became eager to record, and felt this was the time to get started. Due to COVID-19, I knew that this would be the right time to make an actual short film involving others. Although this will be my major goal to make movies and shows for viewers.

Pooler, GA

I was in a plaza parking lot where I worked, with few or more cars parked at the time, with a slight elevation at the entrance, next to an one way street, in Georgia. Not looking for much in a location, this is something that I noticed as I finished my video, that location does matter. The location in general is a start, I plan to take trips by freeing up more time for myself. Also, watching videos will eventually help me to think about, how background is important for future projects.

Using Adobe Premiere, a great software for editing videos, adding typography and effects. I gathered my footage and began editing, it took little time getting use to the commands. I was able to add transitions in between switching from shot to another. I already thought it would be uninteresting so the use of transition was exaggerated. Adding in the saturation to the environment, gave it more of a real like feel.

In the end, I did realize that being unorganized doesn’t help at all and mistakes were made. I will leave my video posted on here so you can check it out. The improvement will be to get some ideas from Youtube to help guide me for my next project, to find a better location, getting better footage and equipment. I really enjoyed creating this video, even though the video is less than two minutes. For the most part I have found some enjoyment, which can be a start to a new career.

I want to do more and will take the time out to chase what I like. If you like what you read and want to see more than leave a tip. This will help to find great locations in the Georgia/Florida/South Carolina region, more descriptive and visual post, equipment and etc. I appreciate you for taking the time to read my post and thank you! If you would like to contact me for thoughts or advice follow my new Instagram page @north.westpro or email me at [email protected].

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.