Motivation logo

Stand for something

Fight for what you believe in

By Marcus AzariaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Stand for something
Photo by Sterling Lanier on Unsplash

When it comes down to it, there have been times in my life I felt a responsibility to stand up for others. There are undoubtedly times where you will need to do this. I have done things like taking a kid who I knew nothing about to the bathroom in school to wash his face after being punched in the nose. I grew up with violence and always wore two shirts to school in case I had to give someone the other one. He had bloodstains on his shirt, so I gave him my extra after helping wash the blood off his face.

One boy, handsome was picked on by bigger boys because girls liked him. It was jealousy in its purest form. I wasn't having it. In grade 8 this bully punched him. I knew this kid was going to be a problem. Two years later he tried it with me. He was much bigger than me, however, the bully did not know my pain tolerance, and how much my parents use to abuse alcohol, verbally, and physically abuse me.

It made me stronger, it made me a force to be reckoned with. The bully got exactly what he deserved from me. I did not take it easy on him. In front of a very large crowd two years after I witnessed him punch someone much smaller than him. Warning him to stop, but beating the bully within inches of his life. He should consider himself lucky to be alive.

There have been a few times within the public school system, where my friends and I would go what we called "bully hunting". We had quite a large group and we were quite a tight-knit group. Although usually the sports guys are deemed the bullies in most situations, it was quite the opposite.

Life is fragile, when you feel threatened, stressed, or uncomfortable, you will have to make a choice. Biology calls it the fight or flight response. I've never ran, and will never back down from a situation where somebody tries to assert dominance over me. I have fought step-dads. I am not scared of pain. Being knocked unconscious multiple times throughout my life. Death does not scare me. It is not acting when someone could potentially lose their life which would sit on my conscious.

The people around you need to know when something is not okay. It's human survival in its most basic form. The animal nature, kill or be killed. As humans, we need to know to use a reasonable amount of force to deescalate a situation. Keep a backbone, and when push comes to shove, take no prisoners. Stand up for yourselves, and others even if it is not your problem. My grandfather, a very wise man, said do unto others as you would have them do onto you. Whether it is lending a helping hand or fighting to the death for the ones you love.

You will come across violent altercations, threatening your freedom, beliefs, and way of life. Sometimes you need to fight a devil with a demon. Life is generally very short anyway. a quick 100 years. Do not waste life. It is a gift. Even if you look like an idiot in front of many. It is much better to walk alone in the right direction than follow the herd walking in the wrong direction. A relatable example of this would be the holocaust, slavery, or segregation.

Fight, my god, fight and stand for something. It is a matter between life and death. Do not let someone push you around. You calmly verbally let them know it's making you uncomfortable, whether it is siblings, parents, step-parents, or a regular citizen. You will not live down the day you let them walk all over you. There are opportunities to succeed, and you will have other chances to recover from mistakes, that's why there are erasers on pencils. Thank you for your attention. Go be free. Peace.

advice
1

About the Creator

Marcus Azaria

Constantly searching for additional income sources.Millennial, 3 time provincial sports champion(basketball,baseball). Unofficially the youngest billionaire in the history of the world and the richest for my age (Satoshi Nakamoto).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.