Motivation logo

Some of my fav mantras

And the like

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
4
Mad love to the Homie that ordered me to jot this down about a week ago now.

16APR2021; 0230, FRI

I am most def out of practice considering how badly I just butchered that time date stamp on my initial attempt. That's to be expected after a bit of a hiatus tho, I reckon.

Also, I know that "Nothing good happens past 2AM", as Bear Hands sang back in 2016. However, I believe it to be more or less imperative that I get this piece hammered out tonight while I'm inspired.

Last few housekeeping points: Apologies for the chicken scratch above; I'm submitting the rough draft; and this may or may not turn into another trilogy. With that being said, now for the cannonball:

1.) "Everything is everything"- MLH (Ms. Lauryn Hill). Considering that the intro to this piece was almost exactly 98 words and her sole solo studio album dropped in '98, I figured why not kick off the list with her.

I'm not gonna front and pretend like I know what this particular one means. Although, I'm pretty sure that the lyrics site Genius has a decent explanation.

2.) "It is what it is"- Random Black folks. This also ambiguous but equally nostalgic one reminds me of the friend of the Fam who I wrote that open love letter too.

She's a big fan of this phrase and MLH as well. Matter of fact, I'm pretty sure that she is the very first person that I heard say this, the better part of a decade ago.

3.) "Won't He do it!"- Also random peeps of the Black community. I'm well aware that more likely than not, "God is a Black [woman and a] Revolutionary".

I'm also cognizant of the fact that this particular line item will likely be flagged by the moderators due to its religious nature; along with the somewhat soft superiority complex. I digress.

The Lovely Lady and myself were raised in religious households; and we're both African Americans. So, yeah.

4.) "God is good. All the time!"- Random church folks. "Please don't [flag] me, Bro!"

That's one example of the African concept, call and response which I couldn't resist trying my luck on. If it helps my case at all, I learned this one from a standup of the living legend Kevin Hart.

5.) "Say it with your chest!"- Kevin Hart. Speaking of the big homie...

6.) "Lights, camera, action"- My old man. That's how he reminds me of my headlights being in the off position when we ride around in the DMV (DC, MD, & VA area) together at night.

7.) "All love all day and every which way."- Moi. Speaking of my dad, this is essentially how I end our daily buddy check calls.

I have a sneaking suspicion that it's my fault that he wasn't there to save his moms (Rest In Power, Grams) when she passed suddenly right after I was born. Least I can do is make sure that he is still getting by, arguable melancholy notwithstanding.

8.) "Hang around em long enough, you'll be like em"- My maternal grandma. This one is sometimes varied as "Be like em if ya want to"; and/or "Don't be like em!"

9.) "Aim small; miss small"- U.S. Army and Mel Gibson's character in The Patriot (2000). I'm ~89% that the late great Gunnery Sergeant Carlos "White Feather" Hathcock II (along with almost every other American sniper) would agree wholeheartedly with that sentiment.

10.) "Walk with a purpose"- also the Army. I've always walked slow.

The above mantra occasionally helps with that. Of course that's only on the times which I remember it and/or realize that I'm becoming "a fall out".

11.) "Stay woke!"- Childish Gambino. The song Redbone from his 2016 album.

12.) "Stay enriched, enlightened, and enlivened"- Another original. I don't remember how or why I came up with this one, but yeah.

13.) "Have a peaceful, productive, and positive day"- Mom Dukes. I believe that this one is almost exactly a decade old or so.

Considering that I'm practically running on fumes (in regards to sleep and such), and the fact that she was born on a Friday the 13th...

***

I'm not sure how, but I ended this post at approximately my exact baseline. I'm taking that as a sign to prepare for my Bday this upcoming TUE by catching up on some much needed rest.

With any luck, someone somewhere gets something from this piece; and if that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share. Thx in advance (TIA)!

quotes
4

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.