Motivation logo

So You Want to Make Money Using a Side Hustle

What are Your Actual Chances

By Ferrari KingPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Many of us have dreams of making extra money on YouTube, Twitch, Instagram or just selling things online. I have already written an article about how hard it is to make money on YouTube, Twitch and other sites. You may have all read books or watched videos where clean cut, nicely dressed people tell you how they made it big and how easy it is if you follow their tips. I will explain the best my limited ability to explain why most of you, and certainly me, will fail. It is true that women will have a much easier time growing on YouTube, Twitch, Instagram and other social media but it comes at a cost. A lot of men get bitter about how much easier it is for them to grow but they forget that women must deal with so much harassment. Men will deal with a lot less harassment, especially gamers. They have guys constantly making disparaging remarks, harassing them for their number (it is never OK to ask a stranger their number), sexually explicit comments and much more. This does not mean men will not get harassed.

I will tell you a story I read a few weeks ago: Back during WWII the military wanted to put armor on their planes but since the armor costs money and can wear down the plane they decided to ask the scientists were the most bullets were on the planes. This sounds good doesn't it. They found most the the bullet holes were near the fuselage and one scientist spoke up and told them not to put the bullets there but everywhere else. Thankfully the other scientists and the military listened to him and they saved a lot of lives. This is part of what is called survivor ship bias. Turns out the planes that went down had were getting shot near the engine and other areas and went down. The scientists were only looking at the planes that made it back. My point is that these people that make it on YouTube, social media or make tons of money selling online are the few that made it. Most that try will never make it.

I am not saying you will not make it, but I want you all to be realistic. This is the same with investing or anything else. Many people tell you how easy it was to get a job and tell you what field to go into because it worked for them. Remember many love to mention STEM but I have a STEM degree and barely make anything.

Obviously you all know to publish on all social media but whether you are a writer, blogger, youtuber, Tiktoker, twitchstreamer, seller or whatever you have a lot of competition and success is more of a crap shoot.

I am going to say I get really annoyed when people tell me how easy it was for them to succeed at something and I have had a youtuber copy my videos along with thumbnails and make it somewhat big. Getting the 4000 watch hours per year is much more difficult than getting the 1000 subscribers. Don't forget you also need 10,000 views.

I really do hope you all make it but be realistic. I know waking up early in the morning to go to a job you don't like and work with people that are very obnoxious is not enjoyable but making it rich doing a side hustle is very unlikely. You might make a few extra bucks a year. Some sites that sell ebooks, you may run into trouble with bigger authors trying to sabotage you.

Good luck and I do hope you all decide to follow me on YouTube (ferrari king) and Twitch (ferrariking1955)

advice
1

About the Creator

Ferrari King

I am Ferrari King and I enjoy writing short stories and playing games, BS in Molecular Biology. My other hobbies are working out, MMA and reading. Here is my wonderful LinkTree you should check for all links: https://linktr.ee/ferrariking

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.