Motivation logo

Self Success for Breakfast

Motivation quotes to get better

By Dale AllmanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
We all need a little more light

"Tell me what you like to do", she said.

"I like to read", thinking to myself I already know the next question.

"What do you read? What's your favorite?"

Hah! Just as I thought. Is it really leading someone on to know or accurately anticipate what they want? Not really I suppose but we all have to play fair, or at least try.

"Oh, quotes from important, powerful or popular people are one of my mainstays. It helps me stay motivated to get better."

"I can't believe you used the word 'mainstays' in an actual sentence" she said laughing that laugh that lights up a room.

Blushing a little I could feel my face getting redder as her eyes twinkled at me. There was that elvish twinkle in those green eyes again.

"Well it's the first word that popped into my head. I could've said 'one of my go-to sources of positive things I read', but that would've taken a lot longer", grinning back at her.

"Look it's like Bruce Lee said, "Don't speak negatively about yourself, even as a joke. Your body doesn't know the difference. Words are energy and cast spells, that's why it's called spelling."

She looked at me with new interest like someone she'd just met or someone she didn't really know.

"Oh, I had no idea", her voice quieter than before.

"So I always spend a few minutes at the beginning of each day repeating positive success phrases to myself. To get the good words into my head early in the day, usually with breakfast."

Unfolding my laptop so she could see, "Here are a few of my favorites from this month."

"This one looks like an outline for daily living", she said.

"Yes I agree, but if you dig a little deeper it's a picture of how things you do are related to what you believe and think. Really helps me with order in all this chaos." I couldn't help but grin at that last part.

"This next one really challenges me to think great thoughts every day", I said looking briefly out the window.

Nurture your mind with great thoughts, for you will never to any hight than you think.

"And I get convicted on this next one. My thinking isn't always the 'I can' variety."

Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right.

"Here's one that goes back to that beginning Ghandi pointed to but it short-circuits the process. When I read this one I always think about that first one."

She was silent now looking at each new image. I could tell she was absorbing the words and almost immediately translating into something useful for herself.

Man is made by his belief. As he believes, so he is.

"Now this one always gives me pause. You know me, I have big dreams. But until I saw this I don't think I quite understood the connection between dreams achieved and the skills it takes to get there. This one is a good reminder for to look at where I am today in relation to my dreams."

You must either modify your dreams or magnify your skills.

"And then this one puts everything back into my day-to-day. 'Focus Daniel-san, Focus!'".

I could hear that laugh again as she almost immediately caught my reference to Karate Kid and Mr. Miyagi.

You must remained focused on your journey to greatness.

"And of course no success quote list would be complete without Elvis."

She covered her mouth, trying not to giggle, flashing those green eyes my way.

Values are like fingerprints. Nobodies are the same but you leave them all over everything you do.

"Which means that in the end you can achieve your dreams and reach your destiny no matter how hard it gets."

Some things are destined to be - it just takes us a couple of tries to get there.

"And one final one to set the stage for the rest of the day because sometimes I feel too limited."

Where there is an open mind, there is always a new frontier.

I looked over at her and could tell she was deep in thought. So I didn't say anything for what seemed like several minutes. But I knew it was only a matter of seconds.

She looked at me then, smiled and said, "Thank you. Now I know more about who you are."

Reaching that soft warm hand up to my cheek, she kissed me lightly on the other and in that beautiful voice said, "I have to go to class. See you later?"

Speechless I looked at her, smiled and nodded gently. Watching her leave, putting on her campus walk, I thought to myself, "Wow, I didn't realize how much this habit of using quotes had gotten into me. I guess she really does know me now."

quotes
Like

About the Creator

Dale Allman

Dale started writing and proofreading at a very young age, after school in his parents newspaper. Corporate career, numerous awards and recognition followed. Dale writes now to inform, uplift and entertain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.