Motivation logo

SELF-ESTEEM CAN CHANGE LIFE

Importance and type of self-esteem in life....

By Yash darjiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
RESPECT YOUR SELF

What a man thinks about himself determines his destiny.

We have seen that many time some people put their self respect at stake for the sake of relationships or money and for some, this becomes a habit. Our first religion is to maintain our self respect.

Till date, whatever has been successful in his life, it is because of his self-confidence and self-esteem.

Let's see a Story...

A beggar was sitting at a station with a bowl full of pencils. A young officer passed by and put 1$ in the bowl and but he didn't take any pencil. After that he got on the train. The door of the compartment was about to close when the officer got down from the train and went to the beggar and picked up some pencils and said " I will take some pencils. Its worth after all you are a businessman and I am too. After that he got into the train very fast. After 6 month , that officer went to a party. The beggar was also present there wearing a suit and tie.

Self-respect can change your life

That beggar recognized the officer, he went to then and said "you probably don't recognize me, but I know you." After that he mentioned the incident that happened six month ago. The officer said, "When you remind me, I remember that you were begging. You're here in a suit and tie, what are you doing?" The bagger replied, "maybe you don't know what you did for me on that day?" Instead of donating to me, you treated me with respect. 'You picked up the pencil from the bowl and said, its worth after all you are a businessman and me too. 'After you left I thought, what am I doing here? I decided to do some good work to improve my life. I picked up my beg and started working. I am here today. I thank for giving me my respect. That incident changed my life.

Knowing your self-esteem is nothing less than a magic. Self-esteem can also increase a person's work efficiency as you read above story.

If we do not consider ourselves valuable, we will never have a high level of self-respect. We unknowingly make others aware of what we think about ourselves and other people treat us in the same way.

Generally 2 type of self-esteem people are found -

1. High self-esteem 2. low self-esteem

Some advantage of high self-esteem -

Your self-esteem makes you different
  • Build strong faith
  • Creates an optimistic outlook
  • Makes a person self-motivated and ambitious
  • Increase ability to work and take risks.
  • A person with a high self-esteem, instead of losing his credibility, takes a loss in business because he considers his reputation to be valuable.
  • Sensitizes the individual to the needs of others and creates a caring attitude.

Low self-esteem -

I would like to mention some of the characteristics of people with low self-esteem. It does not include all their characteristics, but it is definitely a sign about them.

  • They are generally gossipers
  • It is their nature to criticize others
  • They are arrogant, such people pretend to know everything
  • To prove himself high, he proves others low. That's why it would have been difficult to work with them or work for them.
  • They never accepts responsibilities and always blames others
  • They have a fatalistic outlook. They never initiate and wait for the events to happen.
  • They feel uncomfortable and in pain when they are alone.
  • They make promises which they know they will not be able to fulfill and by not fulfilling the promises, the credibility of a man falls.

The way we think about ourselves is our self-esteem and the way we see ourselves in our mind is our self-image.

advice
3

About the Creator

Yash darji

Deep thinker and creator.

Indian.

Believe in smart work but also believe in luck.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.