Motivation logo

Salty, Yet Never Bitter

A Simple Look at Common Decency: Be Kind Y’all.

By Jacquie MayhornPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I'm feeling uncommonly altruistic at the moment so I will take a second out of my day to share a bit of wisdom that could have the potential to be truly beneficial towards making this a more peaceful and unified planet.

Eleanor Roosevelt hit the nail on the head with her quote, "Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; and small minds discuss people."

I wholeheartedly attempt to apply this value towards any interaction that I may encounter throughout my day. Honestly, I find this practice comes as fluidly as breathing; not only because I find the degenerative act of trash-talking a fellow human being to be quite droll when compared with, say, the prospect of discussing Kurt Vonnegut's unique and humorous narrative regarding 'Wampeters', 'Fomas', or 'Granfalloons', but also, because I truly am a genuinely compassionate human being and I have zero desire to tear down my fellow man simply to appease some senseless need to incorporate cruelty as entertainment. I like to pride myself on the fact that I can walk out of any door with my chin held high because I haven't maliciously effected anybody around me. If this perspective does not personally give you a reason to find more interesting topics of conversation then allow me to dissect the nature of the problem a little deeper. Perhaps a vocabulary lesson?

‘Rumor: (noun) a vindictive story that's created by jealous haters, accepted by bored idiots, and spread by mindless fools.’

🤔Hmmm.. it seems to me that the only true participants in a degrading conversation towards another person would fall under the category of 'hater', 'idiot', or 'fool'. Now, I won't presume to know anybody's preference on whether or not they would willingly choose any of these labels, I only know my own heart. Well, here is what I say: “It's past time to change the damn conversation.”

I'm sure you can all think of a plethora of stimulating topics, if not, fine, here's the remote control, surely there is something more interesting to discuss then some ill-written exposé that the drunken author gave up on after page one.

Now, obviously we don't live in a perfect world and a time will eventually come where the whispers are going to be directed towards each of us. Don't you dare let that discourage you. When the fakes are trying to mimic you and the haters are doing their best to keep you down, don't trip. That just means that you are doing something right because you best believe there is only one word to describe those actions. That word, my dears, is 'jealousy'. So when you start to feel the hate, just keep on keepin' on.

Since I seem to have captured your unwavering attention, please let me slide a tiny bit of truth somewhere in the mountains of 'whatever'. Because honestly, I assure you, any mind that is satisfied just standing on the sidelines and attempting to contrive their own speculations of the commentary won't hold a candle to the magnanimous imagination required to scratch the surface of the realities of any persons past, present, or future. Personally, the magnitude of the depths that I've fallen down throughout my life can only be surpassed by the struggles I've faced to claw my way back to the surface. I've lived a life that might warrant a pat on the back from Hunter S. Thompson, himself. Not only did I live that life, but I'm one of the few who found the strength to make it out alive, and I can assure you, what doesn't kill you truly does make you stronger. So don't cheat yourself by attempting to fill in the blanks when you don't even know what subject we're on. I bought the ticket. I took the ride. I have life lessons and wisdom to share that you couldn't possibly fathom; but I've always been a generous soul and more than willing to share.

MY PAST: That's an open book.

I haven't made a lifetime's worth of

mistakes, I've only gained a lifetime's

worth of experience. I'll share that

with anyone who needs to hear it.

MY PRESENT: That's classified on a

need to know basis. Don't ask if

you're not involved because I won't

tell you if you don't need to know.

MY FUTURE: Nothing but blank

pages, baby. Anything is possible.

and yet I'm still gonna be reaching

for the impossible.

And the best part.. that goes for all of us. Your future is blank pages too! Embrace it. Embrace your loved ones. Embrace life. Embrace a stranger, (just don’t forget to wear your mask ;)

Life is always more fulfilling when you are kind. That, my darlings, is a guarantee.

So please, never look down on those around you because everyone faces different battles. Strength is found within. Strength is also derived from outward support. Strength is the action of overcoming obstacles and making it to the otherside. Strength is picking yourself up when you feel weak. Strength is fueled from compassion and drive.

Find your fuel. Focus your drive. Embrace your strength and share it with those around you.

Never look down on others. Never hold another human being back when you have the ability to push them forward. Always do your best to be a positive influence. The consequences of our actions can be beyond comprehension. Hate and maliciousness can travel through this world and effect those around us like the flap of a butterflies wing can create a typhoon.

It’s a simple fact that smiling creates less wrinkles than frowns. It’s common knowledge that smiles are contagious. The lesson here is not difficult.

If this concept eludes you, well here is a suggestion: step down off that guilded high horse you are riding and find the decency within yourself to redirect that negativity somewhere else. I have zero desire to attempt to guide which direction it should be pointed; that's on you.

Now, I'm not sure whether this morsel would be classified as more bitter or salty.. I guess my tastebuds have been fried from all the bullsh*t they've been force fed lately. All I know is I want to make the world just a little bit better than what I found it.

Moral of the story- Choose to shake a stranger's hand and listen for what valuable insights they might teach you rather than huddle in the corner and spectate. Human decency is wasted on those who choose to be spectators.. and let’s face it, everyone hates wastefulness.

advice
1

About the Creator

Jacquie Mayhorn

Here is a look inside the life of a professional underachiever w/ a Bachelor’s degree in Procrastination & a PhD in Dilly-Dally.

I’ve been around a few blocks and trust me… the grass is usually greener.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.