Motivation logo

Real Lease

Letting go to allow

By Breana FulinaraPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Real Lease
Photo by Mike Benna on Unsplash

She sat there on the warm park bench, eerily. Staring off into the distance, just trying to mentally uncover the unknown. Until it hit her.

“What is it with mystery that is so fascinating to the human mind? Why do we gravitate so easily towards it and work with such urgency to find answers?”

“What are you talking about Jeyda?” Riata asked with a slight laugh.

“I was just thinking… and I’ve noticed that not only myself, but many other people, cannot stand not having the answers. It’s like this compulsive need to be right or overwhelming fear of being wrong that keeps us from anything new.”

Riata was used to Jeyda getting these random thoughts, so she listened and contemplated everything she had said but was still confused on how this came up. She just wanted to have a nice cup of coffee, throw some crumbs to the birds, and sit in the park with a friend.

“You do this a lot, you know?”

“What do you mean?” Jeyda knew, she just wanted clarification and details for her insatiable thirst for answers.

“You turn a simple moment into an exploration of philosophical ideals… why didn’t you just become a philosopher, or I don’t know, a priest?” Riata replied, once again, with a laugh. She wasn’t as serious and lost in thought like Jeyda.

“But like seriously dude, I never really have thoughts like that or at least don’t happily spit them out like you. It’s kind of annoying but inspiring in a way. It makes me think of what it might be that I just naturally produce. I’m not sure I have my own version of your wise word vomit.”

Jeyda laughed, “Wise word vomit? What is that!? But thanks, I think. And I think your version of it would be that you don’t have it. You don’t constantly contemplate the meaning of life… you kinda just live it. I could never do that, it’s almost like you float through life and I’m swimming against the current. It’s exhausting. You inspire me!”

“That’s probably what makes us such good friends… we’re the opposites that attracted. How cliché.”

“Haha, you’re totally right! They should make a romance movie about us. But I have to go, I have clients coming in today and they want to check out that new listing that I found on the east side.”

“Oh, the big white one with that weird tree? That house has to be worth some serious bank, you think they’ll make an offer?”

“I hope so… it’s been hard to lock in an offer lately. Everyone always finds the smallest things wrong or ask questions like ‘Nobody died here, right?’ or ‘Is this an old native site?’ like just because the houses aren’t brand new, and we live in an old city doesn’t mean paranormal things are just everywhere. But you be safe, I’ll catch you this weekend and hopefully with an offer locked in… maybe they’ll find the tree charming” Jeyda said as she motioned for a cab.

“Yeah, good luck with that one! Love you, see you at brunch!”

Jeyda got into a cab to get back to her office while Riata stayed in the park to enjoy the sun and greenery amongst their neighbors. While in the cab, Jeyda resumed her thoughts of “what the heck is so intriguing about a little mystery?”. Only leaving the trance for a moment to gratify the driver. She entered her spacious office, lit only by the front window of the building. As Jeyda twists the lamp switch on, she decides right there that she would no longer be that person. The person who needs to know. The person who can’t stand the suspicion. After all, isn’t that the exciting part? The part that makes life… worth it? Maybe ignorance is bliss.

She sits there for a minute, in this newfound bliss, overlooking the realty business she established for herself. It hadn’t been as successful since first opening it some years ago, when she took clients and prospects from her previous agency. She wasn’t plummeting into bankruptcy, she still had a good amount of savings in her account, and she was networking more and more each day. So, what was she so worried about these past few months? Yeah, nobody has made an offer, but people still come in and enjoy her charisma and charm. She still finds amazing listings. Jeyda began to think that the only thing stopping her from prospering is her incessant need to know what’s going to happen next. That’s why her life had become so boring and eventless, she thought she could predict everything.

“Hi! Sorry we’re late! This is my wife Santal; she wasn’t with me last time but was luckily able to get off work early today to check out the house!”

Jeyda slightly jumped as the tall blond-hair, blue eyed, androgynous female clacked in with her heels.

“Ah! Yes, I heard so much about you Santal! And it’s so nice to see you again Liliana, I honestly didn’t even notice the time so it’s completely fine! Did you guys take a cab or drive over here?” Jeyda said with her best real estate agent voice and dazzling smile.

“We took a lyft! How far is the house from here?” Santal answered as her wife was busy rummaging through the abyss that was her purse for her sunglass case. Santal and Liliana looked as though they were from different worlds but in similar bodies. They stood at the same height, had similar builds and firm facial structures but Santal dressed like a nature princess and Liliana seemed to always be in a suit-like ensemble.

“It’s about a 15-to-20-minute drive from my office. I have my SUV just out front, so we can hop in and go over there. Do you guys need any coffee or tea? We can stop by somewhere and get some?” Jeyda didn’t like keeping coffee machines or anything in her office because she knew very well it would always be empty and Keurig’s made her uncomfortable because she had read, they get moldy on the inside.

“Babe did you want anything? I think I’ll just take a water.” Liliana kindly discussed with Santal.

“Yeah, I’d actually go for an iced matcha…” Santal looked back to Jeyda as they both said,

“From Sergio’s”

“Yes! I love Sergio’s café! He is seriously the best at making coffee, I never go anywhere else!” Santal smiled with refreshing delight since Liliana didn’t really get it as she wasn’t a coffee drinker. She stuck to water and teas, mostly.

“You and my friend Riata would be best friends! She loves Sergio’s as well; we were just there this morning. I love Sergio’s but I can’t lie, I’m not exactly a coffee lover, I’m not there as much as Riata.” Jeyda closed and locked her office door to signal that they could begin to walk out of the building as she carried the conversation on.

“Yeah, Lily always tells me I need to ease up on the caffeine but it’s something about having a caffeinated beverage that makes me feel, I don’t know, at ease I suppose. I started drinking coffee at a young age, so I guess I got myself hooked and possibly addicted.” You could sense a little shame in Santal’s voice, but she still tried to add some laughter to disguise it.

As they all got into the car Liliana replied, “You’re not addicted, love. You’re just learning control and you’re way better than most people. Some people drink like three or more cups a day.” She could sense her true feelings since Liliana knew that Santal was working on easing up on the caffeine intake and can be hard on herself.

“I know exactly where you’re coming from, Santal. I started drinking coffee pretty young too. I always thought I’d be some crazy busy, super successful, businesswoman you’d always see in movies and I absolutely hated the taste of coffee so I decided if I start now, I can train myself to like it. Which I did end up accomplishing, but a few years ago I just stopped craving it as much. Actually, when I opened my agency, I had randomly stopped drinking it altogether. The only time I grab a cup is for social reasons.” Jeyda finished as she pulled into Sergio’s parking lot for the drive thru.

All of the ladies ordered their drinks, and they made their way over to the listing as they conversed about music and their mutual interest in the band, Bonjah. Fifteen minutes pass by as they pull into a long driveway, looping beside a tall white house that is substantial in size with emerald-green grass. Let’s not forget the large drooping and twisted tree in the front yard decorated with minimal leaves.

As they all began to get out of the car, Liliana said, “I love how spaced out the houses are! I never liked those new neighborhood developments that have you like an inch away from the next house.”

“Yeah, me too, I think it’s way better to have all this space and a large yard. It somehow makes it more intimate.” Santal stated soon after.

“That’s usually my favorite thing about listings in this area! It really allows my clients their own space if they wish to have it.” Jeyda tried to be responsive as possible as she searched for the right key amongst the hundreds of keys she kept.

Finally, determining the proper key as the three women walk up the steps to the front door, Jeyda unlocks the door. They enter the house and begin the tour. The house is mostly empty and cleaned up apart from the remnants of a move; boxes, tape, and a few things the prior residents left behind. The most noticeable thing being a small, yet slightly heavy, brown package tucked away in a bedroom closet.

“Is that a book?” Santal asked Liliana as she picked it up.

“I’m not sure, did you know this was here Jey?”

“Huh? No, I did not. It wasn’t here when I came by last. That’s odd. Maybe I just didn’t see it?” Jeyda was confused as to where the package came from but wasn’t scared although it clearly mystically appeared.

“Well, I think you should take it. It shouldn’t be left here, and we don’t want it. It does seem important though, perhaps we should open it?” Liliana was very curious to know what was inside but didn’t want to be too obvious about it.

“No! I think we should leave it wrapped up.” Jeyda quickly answered. Santal honestly couldn’t care less, she was more invested in the property, especially the tree.

“Okay, that’s fine. Well, here.” Liliana handed the package off to Jeyda as they resumed and concluded the house tour.

The next day, Jeyda received a voicemail from Santal while she was getting ready for work.

“Good morning! I just wanted to let you know that me and Liliana absolutely loved the property listing and more than interested in making an offer. Please call me back, as Lily is slumped in work today, whenever you can so we can discuss further. Talk soon, bye!”

Jeyda couldn’t believe her ears, she knew yesterday went well but she didn’t think it went well enough to possibly close. She hadn’t even asked her typical realty questions; she just showed the house and made a few comments apart from answering any questions they had. Jeyda finished getting ready and went to grab her car keys from the kitchen island in her apartment to see the brown package she placed there last night. She smiled and put the package on a wall shelf under a picture of her at the opening of her realty office as a reminder that she doesn’t need to know everything. Only what feels right.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Breana Fulinara

I just enjoy creating and I typically do it best through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.