Motivation logo

Ready Writer!

My Gift To the World

By Aundrya RichardsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

My induction to creative writing at age eleven was a moment of activation! An activation of a gift that I knew in time would be what the world had been in great anticipation of all along! My sixth grade teacher taught her students the fundamentals and benefits that came with being able to tell a story that was written and created by you with your designed audience in mind. I can remember sitting in class with the biggest smile on my face as I took notes, hanging on to her every word. I was inspired that day and I left with passion stirring on the inside that I couldn’t explain at the time! But I was clear on one thing, I was created to write! The summer of that year, I spent every waking hour writing and creating short stories!

Using my imagination on this level made me happy and creative writing became a healthy outlet and a safe haven, a place I could go when I needed to get away and bring my mind in. Many of my writing were simply me expressing feelings that could only be relayed through my pen and journal. I experienced many personal breakthroughs that happened as I wrote my way out of the place of darkness life led me into. Years later I would start college and the wheels of my creative mind are continuing to turn as I’m coming up with new ideas to write about.

My freshman year of college, my professor expressed how much she enjoyed reading my work and she went on to say that she could see me going far as a writer. She asked me had I ever considered publishing what I write as books for people to read. At that point, it wasn’t something I gave much thought to because I was so determined to keep what I wrote to myself. But I couldn’t stop thinking about the idea of releasing my written words for others to see.

I started remembering what I learned in sixth grade English when my teacher taught me about writing for my specific audience and I began to wonder if I had an audience of people waiting for me to release what I had been keeping to myself. I started to wonder if there was someone out there who needed to read a story like mine to help them in whatever season of their life they may find themselves in. It took a few years after for me to lay down my fear and take a leap of faith to release my first book as a self-published author in 2016. I was nervous but I didn’t let that turn me around. Within months of publishing, I began receiving reviews and feedback from men and women all over the world who enjoyed what they read and were eager for more.

I was very new to this, even though I had been writing for years. So when I eventually received constructive criticism for my work, I had reached a place of maturity where I was able to take the feedback provided and use it to my advantage in order to improve my stories for my readers. As time went on, more ideas for books to write began to stir. Unique topics that I didn’t ever think I would write about were coming to me left and right! I was loving every minute of it and once I began to release those stories and I started receiving messages and meeting people who thanked me for what I wrote because it helped them heal in an area, I knew I was fulfilling what I was created to do as a writer!

I realized in that moment that I was finding my audience and seeing first hand that there really were people waiting for a story like mine to be released for them and others to relate to! It’s been almost five years since I first started my journey as a self-published author and I can reflect knowing that I’m not in the place I was in at the beginning of this journey. I have elevated my creative thinking and I see myself writing and releasing stories on another level that is set to reach a broader audience. I began to meet people who found themselves in the place I was once in.

They knew they had a passion to write but many of them didn’t know where to begin and some lacked the skills and fundamentals needed to succeed as a writer and produce quality work. So in addition to being an author, I eventually expanded my brand and became an entrepreneur. I started a business that would be centered around helping men and women at any age tell their story through writing. I also created a platform for anyone in need of help with basic writing fundamentals such as spelling, punctuation, sentence writing, reading comprehension, etc.

I graduated from college three years ago with a degree in English not realizing that I would meet so many people who had a passion for writing and creating something new but lacked the necessary tools needed to accomplish those goals. I knew it was not for me to judge or wonder how they reached this place in their life, but my mission was to help and coach them so they gain the momentum they need to push out their first or their next story. I spent years researching and navigating this journey alone through trial and error because people who had achieved the goals I was looking to attain, weren’t willing to help me.

I desire to give my gift to the world but not just through books for people to read. I am also skilled and equipped to help people who are in need of English grammar fundamentals that will help them execute their own visions and goals in whatever capacity that will be. I have a gift that I enjoy sharing and a grace to help anyone in need and I know it is hard to find. So I am ready, willing and able to utilize every platform available that will help me to continue accomplishing those goals and reaching more people daily. I am a writer who is read and will forever share her gift with the world.

success
1

About the Creator

Aundrya Richardson

Hello! My name is Aundrya and I am a self-published author who loves to write! I look forward to connecting with other great writers and sharing stories that will ultimately inspire and encourage those who read them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.