Motivation logo

Quotes

Have you ever thought about who invented quotes?

By Anna Rousohatzaki Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

But the thing is, we do, and they’re so relatable and true! All we have is now, we really do we all have so much to live for right? Go live your dreams and make them become real before it’s too late because you can, if you really believe then you can achieve anything, I promise!

You don’t wanna be old sat regretting the things you didn’t do right? So just go and do it, whatever it is you wanna do, if it’s your dream, if it’s something that will make you happy just go for it because at the end of the day, what do we have to lose? Nothing, other than ourselves if we don’t do what we wanted and start regretting, just do it, you’ll thank me later!

This is why some people write quotes.

‘Initially I was sad and lonely. I would spend sleepless nights feeling morose, sad, and dejected. I suffered from depression. I would go blank some moments. I would collapse in my room in utter sadness.

Then I fought back at life. I wanted to give life a good fight. I embraced each struggle and each hardship in my life. I started reading and writing with passion. I started writing regularly. And I started sharing my emotions, feelings, thoughts, and stories with others.’

‘What I found was an ability to enjoy writing again, because I stopped making it about wanting to be the best, or wanting to be better than some past version of myself, or better than other people I admire a lot who write YA fiction.

Instead of seeing it as a pyramid, or something that you're trying to get to the top of; I started seeing it as a huge ball that I'm trying to, like, contribute one layer of paint to. Lots of other people are contributing layers of paint, and through that the ball gets more beautiful and more interesting, and also bigger.

And instead of me needing to be at the top of my game somehow, what I can really do I think in the end, is contribute in a small way to a very big conversation that's very old. And that's what art is for me.’

‘And I realised why I have become a Poet. It is because I love this world of ours. I love the mountains, the hills, the rivers, the sky, the oceans, the grass, and the flowers. My mother and father taught me to love everyone and spread kindness in the world. I don't believe in borders that create hatred between countries. And I love all the people of our world. And I possess a big heart to love more and forgive easily!’

What is the purpose of a quote?

‘Quotations are used for a variety of reasons: to illuminate the meaning or to support the arguments of the work in which it is being quoted, to provide direct information about the work being quoted (whether in order to discuss it, positively or negatively), to pay homage to the original work or author, to make the user of the quotation seem well-read, and/or to comply with copyright law.

Quotations are also commonly printed as a means of inspiration and to invoke philosophical thoughts from the reader. Pragmatically speaking, quotations can also be used as language games (in the Wittgensteinian sense of the term) to manipulate social order and the structure of society’

Why You Need to Read Motivational Quotes

Quotes have the power to motivate, inspire and encourage. Whenever you feel low, unhappy, or lacking motivation, read attentively a few quotes, and you will see how your mood and state of mind begin to improve.

When you need a little push and some fuel to help you take action, motivational quotes can be of great help. At such times, it would be most helpful to read the words of people who achieved something in their life. Read their motivating words, and let these words sink into your mind.

Another benefit that you can gain by reading motivational quotes is hope. When in a difficult situation, when you do not know what to do, or when you feel down, quotes are like rays of light entering your life and driving away the darkness. I do not mean that every quote would give you hope, but quite a few are really a beacon of light.

A motivational quote has the power to awaken happiness and to brighten your day. It is a good idea to read a few in the morning, after waking up, and again, before your leave for work. Often, the words you read stay with you and affect how you think, act and react, for a long time after reading them.

How do you write quotes?

1. Capitalize the first letter of a direct quote from a source.

2. Put a comma before a full quote.

3. Lowercase quoted material that appears mid-sentence.

4. Include punctuation in the quote inside the quotation marks.

5. Put quotation marks around common sayings.

6. Use quotation marks to emphasize a word or phrase.

quotes
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.