Motivation logo

Princeboy23– Getting to know body builder Sean Prince

Sean Prince

By Jason James Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

HOW BODYBUILDING CHANGED ME:

WHAT’S YOUR NAME AND WHERE ARE YOU FROM?

My name is Sean Prince, I am from Toronto Canada, of West Indian background. My mom is from an island called St.Vincent and the Grenadines and my dad is from Jamaica. I moved to NY about 5 years ago to be with my family living here.

WHAT MAKES YOU DIFFERENT AS A PERSON AND AS AN ATHLETE?

The main thing that makes me different as a person and as an athlete, is the fact that I am not like everyone else in this sport. Most people in this sport were born with great genetic makeup which helps them a lot. For me I am the complete opposite of people who were blessed with great genetics. My entire life all the way through college I have been very skinny weighting 170-175 lbs, which fluctuate at times. The one thing I was blessed with is a tiny waist, and my family said I was gifted with big butt, lol. Did I just say that hehehe. I remember growing up I was made fun of because of my skinny frame with a big butt, people used to called me malnourished and other mean names. People see me today walking the streets even on the train and would asked me common questions like “Were you born with great genetics? Were you born like that? Smh and others would asked me, how long did it take you to get like that?”

When I explained my journey most of them are shocked to know that I started working out in 2014 and took it seriously in 2015. What’s your secret some asked? There’s no secret to my fitness journey. I hired a personal trainer in the 3 months after I joined the gym and worked with him twice a week for about 11 months. He had me eating 8 meals per day with 2 protein shakes and for the first time in my life I have surpassed the 180 lbs mark and got up to 235 lbs. it took a lot of hard work, commitment and discipline on my part to achieve that. I had no workout partner or anyone to pushed me except for my trainer.

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO ACCOMPLISH IN LIFE?

There’s not just one thing that I want to accomplish in life. I want to have more kids, own a house and be a very successful business man. The one thing I want to accomplish in life short term is to become a IFBB PRO (International Federation of Bodybuilding) That is one of my main goal I hope to accomplish very soon. In fact I never had any dreams of becoming a IFBB PRO until early 2018 when I decided to take part in my first international bodybuilding competition, competing at the Arnold’s Classic where I won my class placing first. My first competition was in October 2015 where I won my class placing first. With strong will power, determination, hard work and by the will and grace of God I’ll accomplish those goals.

WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN 5 YEARS?

That’s a very tough question don’t you think? Haha. In 5 years I see myself excelling in my bodybuilding career having that pro card and gracing the most prestigious stage in the world (Mr Olympia) with some of the top elite bodybuilders in the game. That would be a real dream come true considering my journey and how much my body has changed over the short years working out and putting in the work dedicating my time sacrificing sleep, making time for the gym and work while taking care of my son.

Becoming a successful business owner putting my business on the map. I am sure of one thing and that is to develop my business management skills. The knowledge I have in business management all came from taking a few business classes in college, which was outside of my field of studies. I took those classes just because I wanted to learn more about business even though I was studying to become a social worker. I want to develop my business skills as I started my own organic skincare business in the beginning of the pandemic (Prince Skincare).

WHAT DO YOU BRING TO THE BODYBUILDING WORLD?

Growing up in a household of mostly males I have always been active on the filed every single day playing soccer with my brothers and the kids in the neighborhood. Competitive sport have been in me way before the age of 5. Everyday rain or sun we would make our way to the fields playing soccer until the sun goes down. Soccer was our get away sport, while other kids who had more than what I had such as video games and Nintendo that kept them at home, I had no other choice but to go to the park with the boys and kick some ball. As much as I played soccer all the way up to high school I started to hate the sport only because I felt like I was force to play as I had no other choice. What was I supposed to do, sit inside the house looking at the ceiling while my brothers were out playing the game with everyone else? I started to hate the sport after playing it for 2 years in high school and quit as I was also on the school track team which I loved over any sport. I bring a very competitive and discipline style as well as an insane physique to the world of Bodybuilding. My love for competitive sport started before I was even 5 years old. I don’t like losing and winning has always been something I set out to achieve in everything I do.

WHAT LEGACY DO YOU WANT TO LEAVE BEHIND?

The legacy I want to leave behind is for everyone no matter the race culture, religion, rich or poor to know that they can achieve anything they want in this life; despite their access to resources. I believe as long as you are willing and able to work towards it, being disciplined while doing so putting God first overcoming barriers and obstacles I want people to see me as not just a bodybuilder, but one who had to overcome so many obstacles on my way to achieve the things people said were impossible.

I remember when I joined the gym in January 2014 my main goal was to gain muscles as I struggled with self esteem issue all my life because of my skinny frame. I used to think a guy shouldn’t be this skinny as me, that was for the super models of the world. Many of the gym goers used to mocked me telling me things like “where you think you going looking like that?” Do you really think you gonna build muscles? To make matters worst I was a vegetarian for 15 years and I read that being a vegetarian the gains maybe slower than the average person that eat chicken, steak fish ect.

I had to go to the gym early in the morning and late at night before closing to avoid those gym rats that used to say mean things to me. One guy told me I wouldn’t last 3 months in the gym, and each time I thought of quitting those words would come to my mind what he said to me as a positive motivation to keep me going. I thought about quitting many times but I was determined to achieve my goal.

At the end of the day i want people to understand that they have the power to make things happen and to allow things to manifest in their life. People will talk and try to keep you from climbing the ladder but you have to see them as the invisible force on your way up so that you aren’t distracted.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.