Motivation logo

President Buhari applauds Nigerian man who found a wallet loaded with cash in Japan and returned it.

Ikenna Nweke, who found a wallet loaded with cash on the streets of Japan and returned it to the authorities.

By Purity EzenwaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ikenna, who is a Ph.D. student at the University of Tsukuba, Japan, and a teaching assistant in the same university, said he was on his way home when he found the wallet.

''On the nineteenth of June, 2020, as I was getting back home at about 7 pm, I needed to purchase kebab for my significant other, when I moved toward the shop in the inside I saw a wallet and I got it. At the point when I opened it, it contained [a] immense entirety of cash, queen's cards, and other valuables. I was certain that the owner was searching for the cash, I was certain the owner was grief-stricken then I took the cash to the police headquarters.

On getting to the police headquarters, the cop inquired as to why I didn't take the cash, I revealed to him that I was raised by a good family and that my confidence as a Christian denied me from taking anything. At that point, I gave over everything to him and he took my data and every little thing about me and afterward informed me regarding my privileges as someone who has discovered something that was lost.

He revealed to me that I was qualified for 10 percent of the cash and that if the owner of the cash doesn't come to pick the cash following three months, that the entire cash will be mine.

The two offers were dismissed by me. I dismissed those officials since I am a Christian, I dismissed those officials since I was raised by a better than the average family. I dismissed those officials since I'm a Nigerian.

Here is a message for each Nigerian that ought to keep up, secure the picture of our country any place we are. Particularly those in the diaspora, we are the Nigerian individuals know. At the point when we accomplish something awful abroad, it thinks about the picture of the country.

This is a message for non-Nigerians who feel that each Nigerian is a lawbreaker. That isn't correct. Nigeria is a nation of around 200 million individuals. 200,000,000 superb individuals.

There are some criminal components in Nigeria, I should concede, and these criminal components are found in all aspects of the world. These criminal components are only a small part, they don't speak to what our identity is, they don't represent us. They are not a genuine impression of who Nigerians are."Nweke said

In an announcement discharged July 4 by Femi Adesina, Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, President Buhari praised Nweke for anticipating the estimations of genuineness, honesty, and satisfaction. The announcement peruses

''President Muhammadu Buhari sends warm welcome and tribute to a Nigerian doctorate student in University of Tsukuba, Japan, Mr. Ikenna Nweke, who restored a missing wallet with a sum of cash to the police and furthermore turned down a proposal of a rate by the authority.

President Buhari salutes Nweke for anticipating the estimations of trustworthiness, honesty, and happiness that ought to be the sign of a people, taking note of that great excellencies and respectability are the sign of each culture in Nigeria, while wrongdoings and guilts are special cases.

The President trusts Nweke's conduct, coming at a period that the nation needs a positive highlight and close-up on its genuine qualities, obviously signs what should hold the country together, enlivened by strong establishments laid by most families, strict bodies and networks for accomplishment throughout everyday life.

President Buhari wants Nweke to enjoy all that life has to offer in his examinations and work as a showing partner in the same college, encouraging all Nigerians, home and abroad, to continue commending the deep-rooted, vital properties of genuineness and decency, make easy money inclinations that bring individual and aggregate disgrace.''

President Buhari cheers Nigerian man who found a wallet stacked with money in Japan and brought it back.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Purity Ezenwa

Am the first child of my parents. Study at Universty of Adamawa State, Nigeria. Marriad on May 11, 2019.

I like to be honest and kind to everybody. Sincerety is the best in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.