Motivation logo

Porcelain and Pottery Passion

And So Much More

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Trinkets of Love

Thrift Stores, Market Place, Yard Sales And So Much More

Living on budgets yet looking like your wealthy, is so easy and affordable.

From Home Decor, Fashion, Gardening and even toys for all ages. Learning at a young age , from parents that went through the years of depression, how hand me downs to yard sales and even thrift stores, that joy doesn’t have to be brand new. Only brand new to you.

There are little things to watch for, always check over your product before purchasing. Often I look for brand names like Coach, Guess and many others when purchasing purses. Now my apparel I look for my favourite colours, style and most of all outfits that mix and match. Overall the price.

Simple yet Divine

House And Home

We all have different tastes when it comes to design of your home. Presently I am redesigning my home with my husband, with one simple vocal point, one thing that is so simple and yet purchased at a market for five dollars. It means more to me than any expensive jewelry, clothing brand or porcelain.

The most priceless gift of all.

With a simple, yet cost less sign with so much meaning, contrasted with family photos (frames from a thrift store), we have started the theme.

Nature is one of the decors that will be a theme in our home, many trail walks as a couple , then our family and now are grandchildren. From bird watching, to seeing deers, foxes and so much more. Even trips to the cottage fishing, swimming and canoeing. ( two blocks away a man makes bird houses as a hobbie) . I was lucky to purchase two and they are beautiful, even inexpensive.

Craft Making

I have always loved to craft and I love purchasing inexpensive supplies for making gifts and even things I can make to give to others. I like to make cards for friends or book markers, I also drop them off at nursing homes and those who live alone.

Purchasing wool in a bundle of 5 for three dollars is fantastic. An inexpensive purchase and possibly a sweater or leg warmers. Great Finds.

As a daughter of a milkman ,it was so much fun going on market place(social media) or going to markets, collecting old glass milk jugs especially for all the companies my dad worked for.(Sunshine Dairy, Maple Lane and Beatrice). Beautiful collector pieces but also beautiful dried flower arrangements put inside. So many memories of my dad, from loading the milk on the back of a horse drawn milk wagon. To the joy of my dad delivering door to door, dropping milk to so many wonderful people from our hometown.

Personally I have a passion for Owls. The first story I published was that of an owl at the age of seven. After spending time at the cottage with my parents and siblings, I woke up to the sound of the Owl. I had never heard it before so I ran to my parents room, frightened and afraid . My dad took me outside and showed me a big beautiful brown owl in the tree. He told me he was staying up late to watch over me , keeping me safe. He hooted to tell animals or strangers to stay away. Least to say “that was the best sleep I had ever had”.

Better yet,I purchased this beautiful masterpiece for three dollars. My writing good luck charm. I hold dear to my heart, always above me ,while I am doing what I love best “ writing”.

My Sweet Owl

There was an owl who went hoot, hoot.

He wore a white and brown suit.

He liked to eat food that was red.

He never went to bed.

He watched over us while we sleep.

We slept all night, without a peep.

Author: Cathy Raycraft, Grade Two. North Ward School,Paris

Thank you for watching over me, even when I thrift shop. So glad I found you, my sweet Hoot,Hoot.

Happy thrift shopping everyone.

success
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.