Motivation logo

Planning, Preparation, and Memories of the National Anthem

Jim Gaven reminisces about performing the National Anthem at Professional Soccer Game.

By Jim GavenPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was a late summer evening, and the weather was warm and muggy. The mosquitoes were everywhere, and the anticipation of a big event was in the air. I couldn't believe the night was here, and it was really happening. It was an idea I had been tinkering with in my mind for a little while. Something that I dreamed about doing one day. And now, it was about to actually come to fruition. I was about to sing the National Anthem at a professional sporting event...at a Columbus Crew soccer game.

Now, it helped that my brother played on the team at the time. That is how the connection was made. But, it was my work in maintaining the relationship via email and over the phone as well as the demo video I recorded and sent in that won over the 'powers that be' in the end. Some say it is an easy song to sing. It may be if you're singing at home by yourself. Many others say it is one of the hardest songs to sing because of the nature of the song and the fact most people sing it a cappella in front of thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands of people. It is an honor to even be considered to sing our National Anthem, but to be chosen to do so, is an even greater honor. It's just you and the microphone with nothing else to hide any missed notes or incorrect words. But, I had a game plan to start the song at the bottom of my voice register so that when 'the land of the free' part came, I wasn't sounding like a dying cat or a squealing pig, straining my voice to fall flat on that part.

As I made my way onto the corner of the field, all I could see was a sea of black and yellow shirts. All of the hardcore Crew fans were anxiously waiting to get things underway that night. Chants had already started, and the mood was buzzing. I was greeted at the microphone by former played turned broadcaster, Frankie Hejduk. His upbeat, bouncy energy was exactly what I needed to get hyped up for leading the crowd through this timeless, inspirational song. I started, and, before I knew it, it was over! In 1 minute and 30 seconds, I had sung our national anthem, and the game was about to start. The energy from the crowd's cheering boosted my spirits and filled me with joy and ecstasy.

It's crazy to think of all the planning and preparation leading up to this moment had ended in less than 2 minutes, but the memory lasts forever. Isn't that true about most big, monumental moments in life? A woman is pregnant for 9 months and she gives birth in less than a day (in most cases). She then spends the rest of her life taking care of that child. A PHD student spends 8 years studying their area of interest and gives a dissertation on their final thesis in less than 4 hours. This student then spends a majority of their life, and, in many cases, most of their life practicing that PHD through whatever career path they've chosen. A teenager spends several hours practicing how to drive for the test to be over in 20 minutes. The teenager then spends the rest of their lives driving from Point A to Point B. So, the next time you think planning or preparing for something isn't worth your time in the end, I hope this article finds you well and provides some insight for you. It is worth it in the end, because the memory of the event lasts forever and impacts you and the world around you in more ways than you think.

success
Like

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.