Motivation logo

Percy Jackson and The Olympians.

How I got into Writing

By LunarRosePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1

I have two fandoms that I can safely say are my absolute favorite. One of them is a book series. Well there's more than just one but it is all in the same world. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

I personally have never been much of a reader. ADHD and Dyslexia have been big factors in that. Due to my ADHD finding things that entertain me has been very difficult and finding a book that truly captures my attention is even harder. Due to Dyslexia reading has been difficult itself. Letters will switch places, my mind completely skipping words or words would switch places and if you put ADHD and Dyslexia together I spent my elementary school life being told I was stupid. I didn’t have teachers who were willing to help me figure out how to work through these problems.

So when I was Ten and after I ‘Graduated’ from the fifth grade my mom pulled me from public school and started homeschooling me to work on helping me catch up on my education properly. By the time I was twelve my spelling had gotten better and I was reading but I wasn’t really enjoying it. Until one morning my dad came home from work with a book one of his co-workers gave him. That book was called The Son of Neptune. The second book from the second series that is called, The Heroes of Olympus.

At first my parents were going to wait until they found and bought the books that came before it but one school day. My mom told me to go pick a new book to read because I kept falling asleep while trying to read something she suggested. I reluctantly chose The Son of Neptune and by the time lunch came around I didn’t want to put the book down. I Think it took a week to finish reading it and after that all I wanted to read was the other books.

It took years to collect most of the books. I am only missing eight side books. I only received one other book for free. The rest I got with my own money. Birthday money and coins I’ve collected throughout the year. I have read The entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, The entire Heroes of Olympus series and The entire Trials of Apollo series. As well as a few side books. I also own The Kane Chronicles series and The Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgar series. I have not finished reading those books because even though I love everything else I’m still not much of a reader and I still need to be in the mood to read but I will finish them eventually.

These books are about Demigods. Half gods half humans except The Kane chronicles they are Egyptian magicians. Most people will say they love these books because they have magical abilities, Cool weapons, and monsters. Fun adventures and a lot of humor but for me those aren’t the only reasons. I feel I can relate to the characters. There are two signs of being a demigod. Dyslexia because their brains are hardwired to read and understand ancient Greek, Roman, Norse or Egyptian and ADHD because ADHD is the demigod battle instinct.

I honestly wish those were the reasons I have ADHD and Dyslexia. I also feel I relate to the characters because All characters have some sort of family problem. A demigod grows up with only one parent because the god parent is never around. My biological father didn’t want me. He was too scared so he left before I was born. Some demigods also lose their human parent. When I was five I was separated from my mom. Some demigods are verbally abused by their step parents. While seperated from my mom I was verbally abused by the family I was with. So I personally feel a lot of connection with the characters in the books.

I also enjoy them because Uncle Rick. That's what we call Rick Riordan in this fandom. He included a lot of diversity as well as Included characters that are part of the LGBTQ+ community. My absolute two favorite characters are Nico Di Angelo and Will Solace. They are great characters on their own and I would be lying if I said I didn’t have a massive crush on both of them but they are both gay and dating each other. He also included a transgender character. Named Alex Fierro. He has probably included more but like I said I haven't read everything yet.

Another thing I enjoy about this fandom is our hatred for the two movies that came out. If you Ignore the fact that those movies came from a book series, the movies aren’t bad but they are horrible for movies based on books. The creators of the movies didn’t follow the books properly and I feel bad for those who enter the fandom because they’ve only seen the movies because the movies are a forbidden topic in the fandom. We are extremely happy that uncle Rick is working with Disney to create a T.V show that will be a lot better because he said he also hates the movies. He refuses to watch them himself and He feels his fans deserve something better. Even though I’m in my twenties I will definitely be watching every single episode with childish excitement!

The only thing about the books that I don’t enjoy as much as the rest is the emotional rollercoaster. I am a naturally emotional person. These books, especially The Trials of Apollo, make me so emotional I have to put it down or I'm going to scream, usually in a good way. Though I almost cried when a specific character was killed. I say almost because I wasn’t attached to him as much as I am to Nico and will. Most of my need to scream comes from fangirling over something that happens, I usually don’t fangirl over stuff.

I wrote my first fanfiction for these books when I was fifteen and I have rewritten the fanfiction funny enough fifteen times. So not only did these books bring my reading level to a proper level for my age. it got me into writing. I’m currently working on my own book series. I have two books written. I’m working on the third and have plans for a fourth and fifth and possibly a second series if everything goes well.

I have a few big dreams. If my books become “Popular” my imagination tends to go nuts. Like how it would be really awesome if I could meet Uncle Rick and talk to him and his son Haley about my fanfiction. He ends up liking the idea and he agrees to work with me as I incorporate my fanfiction into his world. I don’t want to change it, I just want to be a part of it. If he doesn’t approve of something I’ll change it and if he likes it and the fans like it. It is incorporated into the show as well. Logically I know it won’t happen so the best I can hope for is simply meeting Uncle Rick and his son because these books started with him making up a story for Haley. Maybe even work on something else together.

To summarize Rick Riordan’s books have helped me a lot and I don’t know who I would be if I hadn’t discovered them.

book review
1

About the Creator

LunarRose

I am 21 years old and just starting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.