Motivation logo

Olya Sonica: I’m a true spirit of rock’n’roll

Olya Sonica: I’m a true spirit of rock’n’roll

By anthony rhynePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What's your artist name and where are you from?

My artist name is Olya Sonica and I am based in Los Angeles.

Originally I am from Moscow, Russia, and I moved to New York City wit a backpack and a dream of making music 13 years ago. I didn’t speak English, I just had this vision of the future me singing my songs in English on stages all over the world and connecting with people across the globe.

Since then I have moved from New York City to Los Angeles where I found my new home, but I still go back to NYC quite a bit.

You can take the girl out of New York but my music and my attitude will always have that edge, you know.

Why do you love music?

Music is everything to me, it helps me feel deeply and freely. It has led me places, connected me back to my heart each time I got lost on my path, music is where I feel safe whatever state or mood I’m in.

I started playing piano when I was 5 and I composed my first musical piece when I was 8.

Making music always felt like it was a part of my DNA, it gives me the most beautiful feeling of being synced with the universe around me, there’s nothing like it. When a song channels through me I feel I am the luckiest to be alive.

Sound came before light, and music is a soundtrack to our lives, it makes it all worthwhile.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I am Olya Sonica. There’s no more Olya Sonicas out there as far as I know.

But if I have to think about what characterizes me in the present moment it’d be the spirit of rock’n’roll that lives and breathes through me. I move intuitively and operate on energy, I don’t listen closely to anything or anyone except for my own heart. And I am unapologetic about it.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself at my 4-day residency at a Wembley Stadium. Maybe sooner, like in 3 years, haha.

So yes, in 5 years I'll be traveling the world, playing and recording music, connecting with souls alike, making dreams come true, thinking up new ones.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I wanna continue to be brave and share my story through my songs so someone else out there doesn’t feel alone, and feels that sense of connectedness to self and the world and people outside of them.

When I heard songs that I connected with that's what they did to me, when no one else understood, I pressed play, I cried with them, I smiled with them, and then I was ok. My wish is to be a part of that legacy and continue to create, to learn and to evolve; to live from a place of peace and harmony in my heart. To be a good friend, a good partner, a mover and a shaker. To be present each moment and stay in the attitude of gratitude.

What do you bring to the music world?

A rock'n'roll renaissance. Brand new energy, a whole lot of passion and songs to sing along with anywhere in the world from bonfires to big stadiums.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered by being a good person. By shared moments of joy, by meaningful memories created with friends and fans, by having a catalogue of great tunes that people love to sing and play and dance to.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.