Motivation logo

No Good Deed Goes Unnoticed

How 5 Day Programs for those With Special Needs Made Me Cry Tears of Joy

By Jim GavenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
'Notes of Thanks' Box

Have you ever cried tears of joy because you were filled with such gratitude? I have on many occasions, but one sticks out to me like no other...

It was the Friday before Easter 2018, and I was saying my goodbyes around the office. As bittersweet an exercise this was, I was ready to move on with the next chapter in my life. Moving my way from cubicle to cubicle wishing people well and sharing my personal contact information seemed like the right thing to do, however mechanical it might have been. After working my way around the entire first floor, I arrived back at my desk.

Working at a non-profit organization helping those with developmental/intellectual disabilities, AKA special needs, changed my life. Instead of just going through the motions every day, I started living every day to the fullest and sharing my gifts of time and energy to improve their quality of life. It wasn't about me anymore. It was about serving someone else not expecting anything in return. It filled me with joy. It gave me a sense of purpose and meaning. It taught me about compassion, empathy, understanding, and patience. In short, it increased my emotional awareness and intelligence ten-fold. In many ways, this work helped me become not only a better version of myself, but the best version. For that, I owe a debt of gratitude to these amazing individuals for showing me the way.

What happened right before I was about to leave for the last time out of that front door caught me totally off-guard, gave me the goosebumps, and made me cry tears of joy. It was a simple gesture, but one that I know took much time, energy, and coordination to make happen. And, if there's anything I've learned in life, it's that simple things go a long way. A clear box on a small raised platform was sitting next to my office computer. I wasn't sure what it was at first, but then quickly realized it was a collection of 'Thank You's' and 'Well Wishes' from many of the individuals I served and supported at the 5 Day Program's I regularly visited across the state of NJ for the past 4 years. These programs were at least 45 minutes away from each other, so in order to collect handwritten notes, signatures, and small pictures meant that this had to have been put into place months ago! I couldn't believe it. The amount of thought put into this keepsake meant so much to me. It was better than any raise, bonus, or praise from management. It was from the heart. It was meaningful. I took some time to read through the top few, and then headed through the doors for the last time. When I got home, I read through the rest of them, and each one filled my heart with gratitude, love, peace, and joy. All I ever tried to do was positively impact their lives and teach them about music, how to play instruments, how to sing, and, more often than not, talk about life and what matters to them. I showed up. I was really present. I cared. And, I still do!

It's so simple, but this is all we really have to do with one another to create long-lasting meaningful relationships in life. Just show up. Put the phone down and be fully present. Ask a question and really care about the answer. Give a hug when someone is having a bad day. Celebrate all the good things when they come along.

As much as I tried to teach them and be there for them, they matched and surpassed that for me. You never know who's watching or the kind of impact you have on those around you. No good deed goes unnoticed, no matter how simple or extravagant it may be.

success
6

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.