Motivation logo

My Expulsion Story

A true story about my own ignorance.

By Christine LindstromPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

At the beginning of my sophomore year in high school, I was walking home from school by myself when about a 1/4 mile away from my house a white car stopped next to me. The driver rolled the window down and cheerfully asked if I needed a ride. I politely declined, but didn’t give him the information that I was almost home, which luckily at the time I was smart enough to know was a bad idea. I continued walking, but the white car kept up with my pace. “Come on, it’s cold outside. I can give you a ride” I once again declined, more firmly this time. This seemed to make him realize I wouldn’t get in his car so he drove away. I had a weird feeling that he wasn’t actually gone yet so instead of going straight home I went the long way around, and after turning the last corner I saw a flash of the white car as it sped away in the other direction. By now I was scared shitless and went into my house through the back window. My parents weren’t home at the time so the door was locked but I went around and locked all the windows and stayed in my room for the rest of the night. At dinner that night I told my dad what had happened and even where it happened. His response was that I should walk with a friend or get a ride home. Right.

Fast forward to April of my junior year. By now I had fully equipped myself with everything I needed for the walk home. Coin rolls, pepper spray and even a taser. I had even taken my dads advice and started asking for rides home, even though the walk was a little under a mile. This day I knew my ride wouldn’t be able to drop me off so I put my pepper spray in my side pocket of my bag and my flashlight taser in my bra. During our lunch period, I was outside with my distant cousin and a few other friends. I had told my cousin about this encounter I had a year ago and even disclosed my paraphernalia that I had gotten as a result. He had asked me during a conversation if I had ever gotten tased. I said yes. Full disclosure, a group of friends and I had terrorized each other with it during a house party so I was fully aware of what it felt like. However, I had only felt the shock on my arms and legs and it was always only a quick zap. If I ever needed to use it for emergencies my plane was to aim for vital organs or the esophagus. “What’s it feel like?” He asked. I told him it felt like putting your hand on an electric wire. “Do it” I was confused as to what he meant at the time. “Do what?” I asked. “Tase me, I wanna know what it actually feels like.” We were outside, so I showed it to him. Now, to explain flashlight tasers. They’re handy to have but they make a very loud distinguished noise. So when I went ahead with his request almost everybody outside had heard it. After making a surprised noise my cousin laughed and said “it almost tickles”

Heading back inside, I went to my next class. I almost made it through the day but during last period I was called down the the front office and had my bag searched. They found the flashlight and confiscated it. However that wasn’t even close to being the end of it. The school liaison officer came to question me about where I’d gotten it, why and etc. That questioning ended with me in handcuffs on my way to the county jail where I would spend the next 36 hours in a holding cell with two other women. I remember eating nothing and saying nothing the whole time. My dad was the one who posted my bail, which surprised me. On my way home I still said nothing but once I was home I ran myself a hot bath and cried while the water was running. I had been charged with felonious assault with a weapon and a carrying a concealed weapons charge. The result of that was either $1400 worth of fines, Probation and counseling or 14 days in jail. You can probably guess which one I chose. I had lucked out with the probation because the liaison officer who questioned me was pushing for my jail time.

Fast forward to May 2019. I had gotten off early for good behavior and early completion of my fines and counseling. I couldn’t believe it. A year of walking on eggshells and I was finally done and still had a clean record. All I carry on me now is pepper spray and coin rolls along with 911 on speed dial. Lesson learned, don’t dabble in matters that can really fuck up your life :)

school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.