Motivation logo

My college life

And how a little black book changed it

By Cheyleen GriffinPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My college life
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

In this big world with billions of people all of us living different lives, there is me. A struggling college student in America. My life seems to have changed as I notice how late I was running to a very important college exam. The night before I fell asleep studying after working the late shift at my town's local diner. It was a peaceful morning the birds were chirping, the light shining ever so brightly through my window. I lift up my head off the desk and wipe the drool running from the corner of my mouth. Stretching from a long night's rest I glance down at my clock to see the time is 9:30 am. I continue to stretch and yawn until it clicks. It’s 9:30 am!! I rush to my calendar and skim with my finger through to today’s date, it is May 19th, 2017. My calendar was marked for an exam at 10:00 am. Today was the last day of exams before the beginning of my summer break. I stumble to my closet tripping over months worth of study material in piles across the floor, jumping into a pair of jeans, and sliding on some old worn-out purple vans. I wore the shirt I went to bed in, there is too many to pick from this just seemed like the obvious choice to stick with what was already on my body. Putting my hair up in a messy bun I slide into the bathroom. After splashing water on my face and gurgling some mouth wash I rush into the kitchen. I grab a cold slice of last night's pizza and my bag then head out the door. I check my phone to see that it was already 9:45 am and it takes about 10 minutes to walk to school walking fast-paced. I sprint to school huffing and puffing, as I stop to catch my breath I see something from the corner of my eye a little black book hidden in the slightly overgrown grass propped up next to the edge of the sidewalk. I look around to see if it belongs to anyone and with no one insight I grab the book and continue my sprint to school shoving the little black book in my back pocket. It’s now 10:00 am and I finally made it. I go to take my seat when suddenly I am stopped by my professor. There he stood with his hand out. I pause to think of what he could be possibly be waiting for. My heart drops immediately, I swing my bag in front of me rummaging through the pockets. I clench my jaw and cover my face as I’m overwhelmed with stress. My exam ticket! I forgot it on my desk the only thing I was so sure I couldn’t possibly forget. I pleaded with my professor to let me take the exam but he states that without my exam ticket there is no way he can allow me to take the exam. Which means of course I’ll fail the class. I restrain myself from bursting into tears in front of him and everyone else, walking away devastated knowing that failing this class means that Ill have to pay the school back for this semester. Lost in thought I tripped down the steps at the campus entrance the little black book slides out my pocket in front of me, looking down I see drops on the pavement just to notice that it was me crying. Wiping my face I grab the little black book to see if there is anything that could take away this feeling even just for a moment. Opening the first page the book reads: Are you ready to start over? Are you tired of living the life you’re in right now? Continue reading to start anew and be provided with enough money to never have problems in your next future. Can you believe this? Is this real? My questions were soon to be answered. The wind around me began to pick up. A portal appeared out of thin air and suddenly sucked me in. On the ground, the book drops in front of me. Reaching for it I realize I am not in front of the campus anymore. Standing up I am shaken to see that I have landed in a meadow full of multicolored flowers with a sunset like no other. The breeze runs through my hair as fresh air seeps into my lungs. Taking in the paradise I notice out the corner of my eye, I see a glistening light. I turn to see all the money the book said it would provide. It looked to be at least $20,000 at least where I came from. I couldn’t help but smile. I pick up the black book from the ground and kiss it with gratitude. Raising it to the sky I think to myself. Is this where my life begins? Did this little black book really make all this happen? Clenching the book I shout “MY ADVENTURE BEGINS!”

The new world I appeared in

success
Like

About the Creator

Cheyleen Griffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.