Motivation logo

Moving abroad. Knowing this changed my life forever

Life is full of surprises, your never really know what to expect no matter how many plans you have laid down.

By The Conscious SoulPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Moving abroad. Knowing this changed my life forever
Photo by George Bakos on Unsplash

Life has a lot of interesting ways of showing us what we need instead of what we think we want. I've heard thousands of stories of people who didn't get what they wanted but the path they took instead lead them to have or experience something they needed in their lives.

Here's an example from my life. When I was in my teenage years I was set on studying abroad, specifically in Barcelona. My mind was set that it absolutely had to be there and I almost almost had it...

During that time I was drinking a lot "socially", my parents were in a constant financial battle among themselves because of their divorce and my 4 year old relationship was abruptly over.

In my head studying abroad was getting away from all those things I wanted to leave behind, so I made all the arrangements for Barcelona, school, location, residence, everything! and (yes, my worst nightmare at the time came true) two or three weeks before my flight, just like dominos, my plans fell into pieces all at once.

It felt something like the ice bucket challenge that was so popular a few years back where all of a sudden your are struck by this paralyzing external force, your feet are nailed to the ground and you feel as you can't really move.

It goes without saying I didn't go...

gif: Brackenway Consulting

This happened 6 years ago and honestly is an eye opening experience to look back and reflect on it. What would my life be today if I had gotten what I thought I wanted? Let me tell you it wouldn't be remotely similar from what I have right now.

Truth is not going to Barcelona saved me! I ended up studying my degree in Canada which completely changed my perspective of life, my behaviors and my goals.

Suddenly I was experiencing life through many different cultures and I can not possibly start describing how much I've learned since I moved here.

Moraine Lake, Banff National Park - Taverna Travels

Now, I want you to think about something you really really wanted a couple of years ago. Give yourself a moment to reflect on it and then try answering this:

- Did you end up getting it?

- How important is that thing or situation in your life right now?

- Was it worth all the stress you put yourself through?

- Could you live without it?

We often condition our minds to get something we want without realizing that it might not be in our best interest. Sometimes life guides us in different directions from the original plan and it might feel wrong or weird or uncomfortable but such is life!

Experiencing the new and unexpected is part of being human, of being alive and there is so much magic behind it.

All change regardless whether we wanted it or not is going to feel uncomfortable because it's unfamiliar, it's outside our comfort zone and our mind tries to "protect" us from it. That's where most excuses come from.

Pic: hannahisma.com

But what is important is that you keep pushing through, keep taking one step at a time and never forget to enjoy the journey as it is all we have.

Life keeps on moving no matter what so don't let a set back pause your life, use the set back to boost yourself forward!

With love,

advice
Like

About the Creator

The Conscious Soul

Being here on earth is magical, it's an amazing opportunity for our souls to expand, to feel the almost burning sensation of unconditional love and light in your chest and burst with gratefulness and drives to help others find this feeling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.