Motivation logo

Millennial Principles

Aside from all the depressing things in life, here's a positive outlook on life.

By ArJ SmithPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

In case this life advice totally sucks, I'm gonna remind you that shouldn't believe everything you see on the internet. That said, here are the mantras I repeat in my head that get me from one day to the next:

1. If I'm not waking up from my nap still thinking about this inconvenience, it's not something to think twice about.

Whenever I feel wronged or stressed, I take a nap to clear my head. I set an alarm. By the time the alarm goes off, I either want to stay asleep, or I want to stay awake to piece my incoherent thoughts together. If I stay awake, then I have to make a decision on what to do about what's messing with me. Not a bad tactic, but napping's not for everyone. So for you demonic, satan-spawns who don't like naps, I would say that if it won't matter in a year then it won't matter in six months. If it doesn't matter in six months, it won't matter in a week... you get where I'm going with this. If it doesn't pull a Freaky Friday, don't waste your time. You have better issues to think about.

2. I am a human being. All human beings suck to some extent. As long as my incompetence doesn't hurt anyone else, it's okay to suck.

In the wise words of the brilliant Hannah Montana, "Nobody's perfect." Except for Halle Berry. That woman is a goddess...

Besides the point.

That model that you double-tapped on Instagram, she's got insecurities about her boobs. That guy at school that always smiles and jokes around like Kevin-freaking-Hart, his mom probably doesn't even like him. That chick in the heels, she almost fell down a flight of stairs because she missed a step. We're human beings. It's what we do. So what if you slipped up and ate that piece of fried chicken? You've got time. Sober up and try again. It's not the end of the world, which brings me to my last point...

3. Everything will always be okay.

Oh God. She said it. She pulled the "everything will be fine" card. How can she say that when everything and everyone around around me is falling apart?

Here's how.

The world hasn't stopped just because you're having a bad day. It's harsh, but it's the truth. And if the world can keep spinning while aerosol spray attacks its atmosphere, why can't you? Time will always pass by, and no matter how hopeless and depressing and draining your situation may be, it will pass. Hell, no one said it'd pass by fast. No one said it would be easy. But everything has to die eventually, even our problems. In the meantime, grab a couple of snacks and friends. Take a nap every once in a while. Talk to someone. Vent in your art, whether it be singing, painting, hell... reading. Do what you can to free your mind. We're all just a couple of sucky humans trying to do our best.

Besides, problems make your life more interesting. Once you solve for x in this equation, you're gonna have to solve for y in another. But sometimes, those are the problems you really can't wait to solve. Sometimes those problems are worth suffering through the previous ones. Because, at the end, you'll finally be able to tear that damn test in two and dump it in the trash.

advice
Like

About the Creator

ArJ Smith

Nutella enthusiast with little time for sleep.But you best believe I'm up awake thinking about whether Mike Wasowski winks or blinks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.