Motivation logo

Mermaid on the Rocks

A moment to wait

By Alexandra GomezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
merman tattoo

Mermaids, sea creatures, Gods of the sea, this is what came from my nerdiness and love for mythology. I have loved mermaids and water since I was a little girl, have always felt comfortable in the water and would spend long periods of time in it. Be it by swimming or just floating there. I always was called the fish out of water because of it. For this tattoo I was looking for something that would represent that in all it's meaning but for some time I couldn't find anything that would call to me. Some time ago I accompanied my friend to a tattoo shop for an appointment and as she was scrolling on her phone to find the design she wanted she stumbled upon this design online and show it to me saying I believe it would look great on you and it captures what you were looking for. I fell in love with it at first sight. Because I would always tell her how I would like to have a mermaid tattoo on me but at the same time It didn't feel correct cause the different ones I saw and belive me I saw quite lot of them that seemed too grotesque,big, flirty, scary,just too cartoony, not for me.Then appeared this merman who took us by surprise ,for me specifically when I get some art done on my body it has to mean something. At first I started to think really deep about what meaning a merman would have for me to get it on my body. It took me a while to get somewhere with him. At the time I had just changed schedules at work it was a good change but it meant less social life than I had at that point it wasn't much. When I talked to the artist about doing him at first all we had was a black and white drawing we took from the internet. From there we talked about sitting him on something so his pose would be explained. It took 7 hours in total that we had to divide in 3 sittings thanks Covid regulations for the shop. So while we were in this session there came the idea of waiting, of things are going to get better if you're patient. So to me this merman is sitting on the rocks waiting for something. Maybe a new start or maybe someone. I happen to like mythology so we can put it as a representation of the sea gods. This could be a young Poseidon before he became ruler of the sea. Or could also be Grannus warming the spring waters, Yocahu watching over the sea,Varuna god of the water and the celestial ocean, Neptune before going to war,Triton thinking of the legacy his father left for him. Maybe he's thinking of his next move, where would he swim to, what would he do, who will he meet, etc… There's a million ways to try and interpret this. The interpretation for me is an imagination of an alternative reality where we are just waiting for what comes next. We take our time to breath and think before we act.Maybe we will take that step and quit our jobs to travel the world. Or we'll get the courage to talk about our problems with someone. Who knows maybe we will get the calm we need to keep doing whatever it is that we do. But for now we are sitting on a rock thinking of what would be our next move in life. Just waiting.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Gomez

26 year old tryingto survive inhis pandemic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.