Motivation logo

Meet Vi Vibez

Meet Vi Vibez

By Sarah BlessingPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

I was born in 1981 in the USVI. I went to a private and public school growing up. I love music cause it brings me joy and gives me love. What makes me different is my unique style mix with 3 genres. What I bring to this industry are innovative sounds and quality hooks. In 5yrs I see myself as an innovative songwriter/artist/designer. My childhood years spent in the USVI were based on a diverse music selection. I want to be remembered as an innovative businessman. My mom played all the classics like Luther Vandross, the Gap band, Teddy Pendergrass, Aretha Franklin, BoB Marley, Peter Tosh, Gregory Issac, etc. I didn't listen to rap til I was about 13 cause my parents figure it wasn't real music. My rap influences are Tupac, Biggie, Jay-z, LL Cool J, Mob Deep, Twista, Outkast, Goodies Mob, Ludacris, Ti, and Field Mob

It wasn't til my 6th-grade year in Kirwan Terrace, I was asked to sing, different colors one people by Lucky Dube. Few heard me sing to me myself. Little that I knew, that my girlfriend at the time will tell her auntie who was my teacher that I can chant. 😬 For me, it was a blessing but I was shy still. Anyhow, I did it for the talent show and kill it. It was amazing cause I had background singers to help elevate the song. That opportunity opened doors for me to do the same song at the Emancipation Garden in St.Thomas for black history. It turn out great and there I started to perfect my music career. Moved to Atlanta in 95, the freaknik era. This is where I started to execute my plan. Played basketball at Chamblee High School during my 8th-grade year but that later took a backseat. My mother pass away in 96 so it took a toll on my young soul. I had to grow up fast cause my dad emancipated me.🤔 Living on your own in high school was a big change. So my dreams paused until I graduated 🎓 and went to Iowa to play D1 basketball and take music classes. Basketball wanted to redshirt me so I say I didn't come to be 6th man so I focus on writing music.

After t

hat year I came back to Atlanta in 2006 and decided to go to Omni Tech where it all came together.

(ABOUT THE SONG HISTORY)

It's funny cause the concept has always been there, I just had to find the right melody. I started to brainstorm this song in 2012. The song was recorded at Soul Asylum Studio in Atlanta but it wasn't til 2015 it was clear on the vision. I had to take a vacation back home to St.Thomas Virgin Island for a carnival. It was a breath of fresh air and the atmosphere was so perfect. I said to myself, I know it's a lot of individuals who haven't experienced this kind of life so why not share my vision? My hometown is everyone else vacation and fantasy🤷🏾‍♂️ It was a different production back then so I decided to update the production thru ROYALTY and Respect which is out of Miami. The new production was released in July 2021 called pressure

At this current moment, I'm working on my clothing brand called str8 fiya. The difference between my brand and others is that my company delivers an everyday model that most can affiliate with. Embroidery orders will be different by order but we will have press merchandise that everyone could purchase. It consists of hats, t-shirts, shorts, and sweats. I had the honor to create a jingle for Tierra Grilles, a custom car company out of the west coast. Rafael Capone and I song wrote it together and 808 Hana produce the beat. Everything else was history at Sas Atl laboratory aka Soul Asylum Studio in Atlanta.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Sarah Blessing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.