Motivation logo

Meet talented music artist ITSYABOYCARR

Meet talented music artist ITSYABOYCARR

By anthony rhynePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

I go by Carr but my full artist name is ITSYABOYCARR, born and raised an hour south of Boston, MA in a small city called New Bedford. A city once known for its whaling industry, after the turn of the century became a place lost in time. Growing up where I did taught me a lot about life, death and everything in between. I’ve lost friends to drug use and gang violence and I’ve had friends that went on to shoot photos for celebrities like Drake and Kanye. Just like any other hood in America it’s sink or swim.

Why do you love music?

My passion for music started at early adolescence. I saw my cousin playing guitar one day at a family function and begged my folks to get me one. From there, between a mixture of lessons and online guitar tab I began strumming at the age of 10. Early on I would write poems but never songs, I didn’t have the confidence as a child to put it behind music. In high school I found out all the poems I had written were even better over beats and that’s where I found my passion for hip hop. Since then music has been a huge part of my life and has continued to be. After my time in the military and moving to the Bay Area, I decided to finally take music seriously and begin studio recording songs I had written. Since then I have fallen deeper in love with the writing and creation process and couldn’t be prouder of what I’ve produced.

What makes you different as a music artist?

The secret behind artists is that in many ways we’re very similar. Most of us come from broken homes, have a passion for what we do, and we all think we’re the hottest artist who’s up next. The one thing that I can say confidently separates me from other artists is my work ethic and investment in my craft. In my 2 short years in music I’ve released an EP, a feature film music video, performed at over 25+ events and shows, studio recorded a 12 track album, shot 2 additional music videos set to release with said album, began a hosting service for my own shows, (CAPN’ SAVE A SHOW) and have been featured in several publications and podcasts. The other factor that separates me is that my money is all clean. I put 80+ hour work weeks in and use every dollar I earn to fund the ambitions I have as an artist. This includes learning new skills to create better content which is all created in house by myself unless otherwise posted.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I’ll have 3 feature length projects out with music video releases and merch rollout included. I will be featured on local and national publications. I will have performed in front of several sold out shows and have gone on my first US tour.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I’ve already accomplished everything I could’ve ever hoped for in life at the young age of 25. When I was home last both my parents as well as my brothers told me how proud they are of me and how far I’ve come in such a short time. Coming from the only people that have known me since birth, that is the world’s largest accomplishment any man or woman could ask for. If I am fortunate to accomplish further accolades or achievements it will be because others see the same potential in me that my family saw since day one.

What do you bring to the music world?

I’m bringing 90s boom bap with a modern twist influenced by the bay area hyphy movement. A sound crafted over years of real life circumstance and challenge. A live performance that engages crowds of all ages, nationalities, and gender. With a message that can be heard by millions and repeated back throughout time. I hope to bring myself as I am to the music world and to never let anyone or anything change that about me.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I would like to be remembered by the depth of my character. I would like others to remember me as someone who offered a hand when I saw them in need. A person kind and loving with all the right intentions even when emotions or circumstance clouded my judgment. A fighter with a fiery spirit who’s never afraid to hold himself accountable for his own wrongdoings. Most importantly I want to be remembered as someone beyond my music. I want to be remembered for me.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.