Motivation logo

Meet music artist Rudebwoy Roscoe

Meet music artist Rudebwoy Roscoe

By Jason James Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What's your artist name and where are you from ?

Rudebwoy Roscoe aka NY Rude from Queens, NY

Why do you love music?

Coming from a Caribbean background I grew up in a house of music. I remember my Jamaican mother always blasting Bob Marley in the house while cleaning and cooking. Naturally growing up in New York during the 90s I fell in love with the golden era of hip-hop and ability to express oneself through lyricism.

What do you want to be remembered?

I remembered as a kid when a bootlegger came into a Brooklyn hair salon while my mother was getting her hair done and to support his hustle she bought Jay Z's “ Hard Knock Life Vol. 2 “ CD and gave it to me. In those days the Internet wasn’t as established and access to music was limited. The after effects of this would be me playing the CD on repeat every day after school. While at the time Jay-z’ s lyrics were too deep for me to understand, the flow and beats lured me in which was the beginning to something much bigger.

Tell us more:

A love for music as a fan is one thing, but to fall in love with the creative process and artistry of it is something completely different. When I first started to create music it started off as a hobby, my friends were the ones who took it serious. I would make songs for fun and with the emergence of social media platforms such as myspace, I would post and share my music.

Upon gaining online traction and followers my confidence began to grow. I remember having a breakthrough after playing my music for the late “Phife Dawg” of “ A Tribe Called Quest” and him gravitating to one of my songs. To see a HipHop Legend nodding his head to something i made really gave me the confidence to take my music aspirations to the next level. After hearing me remix a bunch of songs he told me to start focusing on making original content , and stay in touch. Phife sponsored my basketball team back in 2009 and was a close friend of my basketball coach which is how we originally connected.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I've become the first music artist in history to get an education from MIT. By entering the Tech space one of my goals are to redefine the narrative of what minorities from urban communities are capable of. What I’m doing is bigger than me, it’s for the culture and to inspire the next generation. I see myself as an inspiration to show fellow artist that yes we can be artists, but we can also be more than that. I want to set an example that its never too late to reinvent yourself, push boundaries, and be better today than you were yesterday.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Five years from now I see myself advancing in the Tech space and entertainment Industry , as well as in TV and Film. I envision myself somewhere down the line being categorized as a hybrid in the like of other such as Jay-Z , Elon Musk, and Denzel Washington. Between the gifts God gave me and the tools available today I feel that creatives are more empowered than they've ever been and the possibilities are endless.

What do you bring to the music world?

A sense of style and personality with intelligence. From my observation it seems that many influencers are masquerading as musicians and are messing it up for those that have the true passion and creativity for the art form. Today so many are imitating rather than creating. The game today seems to lack individuality and it's time to change that. Theres too many of us trying to follow trends and be the same, rather than create our own lane. With my background in technology and passion for innovation i plan to implement strategies that will create new opportunities for creatives.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered as an innovative and gifted individual that brought fresh ideas to the table while pushing the boundaries of what individuals and artists from urban communities can evolve into.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.