Motivation logo

Meet Melchie Graham

Actress & Model

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like
Melchie ( Actress & Model) Photo Credit: Ny Bachus

Meet Melchie Graham

Hello, my name is Melchaeyah Graham I go by Melchie. I am 23 years old and, I was born in Syracuse NY on September 24th, 1997. I am an Actress and Model. My parents separated when I was younger, but I was fortunate enough to have both my biological father, and my stepfather teach me many important things in life. My mother has five daughters, I am the 3rd of five girls which makes me the middle child. Growing up I was always different from my other siblings and at times felt left out. I would keep to myself, make clothes, play in makeup, and dream about the future me.

I attended Roberts Middle School from 3rd through 8th grade, and I was picked on for being too skinny. If I wasn't being picked on about that I was being called stuck up, or told that "I think that I am all that" because I was blessed with very long hair, a beautiful face, and a beautiful personality to match.

I remember crying a lot as a kid not understanding why everyone had a problem with me. Even at home, it seemed like I couldn't do anything right.

I didn't know what my purpose was, and I was very suicidal growing up. I remember begging God to not wake me up sometimes. I know there are other women who have dealt with some of the same things that I have, but as a kid, I thought it was only me.

When I was finished with Middle School, I went on to Corcoran High School from 9th until 12th grade. During this time my mother and my stepfather moved to the Westside of Syracuse. The violence there was at an all-time high then. We were hearing and running from gunshots so that we wouldn't get shot. Bullets would be coming through your house, or over your head was very traumatizing. Then having to go to school and focus when there are so many personalities as well as energies disturbing yours. Also, there were so many other kids living through that same violence every day too, it was hard to stay focused.

Melchie ( Actress & Model) Photo Credit: Ny Bachus

Growing up I never had a bond with my mother because of somethings that happen in life. I do understand that no one is perfect, we all make mistakes, but that on top of everything else was overwhelming over the years. However, I'm lucky to have such an amazing father. He and I weren't always close but he is like my best friend now. I can talk to him literally about anything and won't be judged or talked about.

I got a job when I was 17 years old at Burger King, and worked there for about a year. I graduated from Corcoran High School in June of 2016. After graduating from High School I decided to leave my mother's house because I just couldn't deal with a lot that was going on. So I went to go stay with my boyfriend at the time. He helped me with everything I needed, taking me to work, and dropping me off. Later on that year I became pregnant with my daughter Alicia. I didn't think I could go to college so I decided to just be a stay at home mom. I was just 19 years old, and I knew I just couldn't throw away my life that easily so I keep thinking about what I'm good at, and what I could do with my life while still being a very present mother.

My relationship with my daughter's father wasn't working. I decided to leave Syracuse with my daughter when she was 2 years old. We went 30 miles away and stayed at a hotel until I found an apartment that I found 2 months later. The day I got my keys to my apartment my appendix burst which I didn't know at the time. I went to the hospital and was told I had the flu. So I sent my daughter to her cousin. For 5 days I was laying on my apartment floor dying. I haven't eaten or had anything to drink. I couldn't text or call anyone because my phone felt too heavy. I was struggling to use the bathroom as well as wash my body. On the 5th day, it felt as if my soul had left my body. Then I heard banging on the door and snapped out of it. It was my daughter's cousin. She came by and saw how sick I looked and rushed me to the hospital. Once they ran tests on me they could see I was dying and could die at any moment. A surgeon had to rush to the hospital who was an hour away but he made it and saved my life.

Melchie ( Actress & Model) Photo Credit: Ny Bachus

I still have the scars on my stomach so I wasn't sure about modeling anymore, but during this time I was healing. I read an article that was looking for background actors for a movie that was being filmed in my home town. I knew I wanted to get out of being shy. So I signed up not knowing that I would actually get in but I did! I had about a month to heal completely before going to set. That's how I got into acting and I absolutely love it!

From then on I got back into modeling, taking professional pictures, and getting inquiries to be a brand ambassador model for multiple clothing companies, jewelry companies, and more on Instagram. Having these life experiences taught me the meaning of self-love, and believing in yourself even when it feels like no one else in the world does. I always learned to keep my faith, to never give up, as well as always being me, and never letting anyone or anything change me.

I am beautiful, my skin color is flawless, my eyes tell a story, I am kind, I always have good intentions. I am very hard working and determined so I won't give up. I am going to finish the race I've started. I always wanted to be a positive role model. Not just for my beautiful daughter, but for all of the females in my hometown that reach out to me. Also, I want to be a role model for all the males that are interested in acting too.

Melchie ( Actress & Model) Photo Credit: Ny Bachus

Tammy Reese:

What an amazing story and you shared it so well. You are triumphing and turning pain into purpose. Thanks for sharing your story. There are so many who will be inspired by your talent and resilience.

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Melchie Graham:

I love being able to tell a story through my work and meet new people.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Melchie Graham:

The two most memorable moments in my career would be a time a went to my first audition and I was extremely nervous doubting myself because there were so many different girls there but once I walked down I was the only girl called back out to walk again out of like 150 other females. When I came back out the judges jumped up and took more pictures of me and were talking and smiling. It made me feel really good and confident because they saw something in me that I didn’t see in myself at the time. Another memorable moment in my career is working as a background actress and being featured in that movie called The Binge.

Tammy Reese:

If you had the opportunity to work with anyone who would it be and why?

Melchie Graham:

I would work with Tyler Perry, Taraji P.Henson, Winnie Harlow, Naomi Campbell, Meagan Good-Franklin, Micheal B. Jordan, and Jordan Peele. I love every one of these people's work, stories, and dedication. I think we’ll work very well together.

Tammy Reese:

What other talents do you have?

Melchie Graham:

Drawing, doing makeup, making clothes, and cooking.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Melchie Graham:

Photoshoots and finishing a story based on my life that I one day want to make into a movie and be the main character.

Tammy Reese:

What are your long-term career goals?

Melchie Graham:

To keep moving forward in my career and become a known model and actress because I have a purpose that’s way bigger than both of those things, I want to give my daughter the world, give back, and help people that are struggling once I become financially stable.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone wanting to enter into your creative industries?

Melchie Graham:

Never give up, take every day as a learning experience, be kind, manifest everything you need and want. Also, tap into your spiritual self and work hard to get where you would like to be.

Connect and follow Melchie career journey on Instagram.

Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.