Motivation logo

Meet Kidjay

Meet Kidjay

By Sarah BlessingPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

1.WHATS YOUR NAME I ARE YOU FROM?

MY NAME IS JASON OBANNER BUT MY STAGE NAME IS KIDJAY IM FROM YPSILANTI MICHIGAN RIGHT BY DETROIT WHICH IS MY SECOND HOME.

2.WHY DO YOU LOVE WHAT YOU DO?

SINCE I WAS A KID I ALWAYS LOVE MUSIC MY FAMILY IS FULL OF THEM SO IT KINDA JUST FELL IN PLACE YOU KNOW MY DAD WAS A MUSICIAN MY GREAT AUNT AND UNCLES AS WELL MY FAMILY COME OUT THE GOSPEL HEAVY.

3.WHAT MAKES YOU DIFFERENT?

I DO MUSIC FOR THE YOUTH THATS WHY IM DIFFERENT I DONT AND REFUSE TO PROMOTE DRUGS OR VIOLENCE IN MY MUSIC WE HAVE TO TEACH OUR YOUTH THAT THINGS CAN BE DONE WITHOUT FOLLOWING THE TREND YOU JUST GOTTA HAVE A DREAM AND A PLAN.

4.WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF IN 5 YEARS?

ESTABLISHED HOPEFULLY WHERE I WANNA BE I WANNA REACH THE MASSES IN 5 YEARS TOUCH AS MANY YOUNG DREAMERS THAT I CAN AND INSPIRE THEM TO PUSH BY ALL MEANS NEVER STOP DREAMING

5.WHAT DO YOU WANNA ACCOMPLISH IN YOUR LIFE?

I WANNA BUILD A ALL AUTISTIC HIGH SCHOOL THATS WHAT MY MAIN GOAL TO BUILD A SCHOOL WHERE AUTISTC CHILDREN CAN BE THEMSELVES WITH NO JUDGEMENT THEY ARE ANGELS BEAUTIFUL SMART PEOPLE WHO ARE MISUNDERSTOOD AND OFTEN JUDGED WRONG.

6.WHAT DO YOU BRING TO THE INDUSTRY?

SIMPLE BALANCE AS WELL AS REAL HIP HOP MUSIC THE MUSIC THATS SOULFUL AND NOT MURDER RAP INFLUENCING YOUNG MINDS TO BE BETTER I GOT A BUNCH OF YOUNG PEOPLE WHO LOOK UP TO ME I WANNA SHOW THEM WHATS RIGHT AND WRONG.

7.WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE REMEMBERED BY?

AS A HARD WORKER WITH A HEART OF GOLD AND JUST A ANGEL TO THE EARTH WANT THEM TO SAY YOU HE WAS ALWAYS WORKING FOR GOOD GOD FEARING AND WAS WILLING TO GIVE HIS LAST TO ONES IN NEED THATS JUST ME MY HEART LOVES HARD ITS KINDA DANGEROUS BECAUSE I LOVE N TRUST SO HARD I GET DISAPPOINTED BY PEOPLE ALOT.

CLOSING ABOUT KIDJAY

Last year I was one of the mentees in the Steve Harvey Program and I got to talk to him,

Charlamagne and Jeezy. I showed them my poem I wrote about George Floyd and how I work with kids on the Autistic Spectrum and they loved it.

Charlamagne Tha God

told me "your positive message is needed in hip hop". It felt good hearing good things about me coming from other rappers in the game that I look up to like Jeezy.

It's a lot of pressure that comes with being a role model, but I'm willing to take on that responsibility because at the end of day what I'm trying to do is save and encourage our youth. I know I still have a lot to figure out about myself, but everybody is a work in progress and If I can be the one to help the youth progress even farther than I will.

Although Kid Jay is a rapper, his style differs from typical musicians we hear on the radio, and aims to change the narrative of rap music. He says this is the way of connecting with the youth. Yall follow kidjay he has a promising future he also is a advocate for autism and he will be coming out with a album called boycott black murder said he is tired of losing friends family and associate to Gun violence he also mentions it's so dangerous being being a rapper in these days he said hopefully he can change the narrative get a new wave going where music is fun again and not emotionally disturbing.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Blessing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.