Motivation logo

Meet Chicago Artist SlimeyDarro

Meet Chicago Artist SlimeyDarro

By Jason James Published 3 days ago 3 min read

What’s your name and where are you from? 

Darius Johnson ,my artist name is SlimeyDarro and I was born and raised in Chicago, IL but I live in Atlanta now. I moved around Chicago a lot growing up as a kid but to all started over east. Yes I had the slimey part before I even moved to Atlanta.

Why do you love doing what you do?

I Love making music because it makes a lot of people happy and changes the tone in the room for people that may be having a bad day. My Music seems to always put a smile on people face. The same vibe when some Thug come on, or Sahbabii or MoneyMan. Those are just a few of my musical influences.

What makes you different?

I bring a completely different sound rather than what the average person brings on a beat. Too me rapping about drill and killing people is played out , I guess because I grew up around it, I have More of a melodic sound from 2015-2019 but with a little bit of twist. But my growth doesn’t stop there. Im going to always keep elevating my sound as I grow older.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I’ll be 31 going on 32. On the music side I see myself still making music or elevating my sound. A few records of course . Then as a collective passing my knowledge and skills down to the next generation. I also see myself owning a few businesses making a daily profit, Maybe a kid or two. I may have more kids

What do you want to accomplish in life? 


I want to be able to accomplish securing a record deal with no funny business, elevating my music as high as possible and put all my people on, and as a main priority take care of the fam. That’s the main focus. I want to have my music playing in foot locker stores, possibly some tv scene shows, and clubs and lounges.

What do you bring to your industry? 


As of right now I bring a lot of free speech, music that can solidify people, good vibes and good records. My music is intended to create a safe space for an audience to all come together.

What do you want to be remembered by?


I just wanna be remembered by the guy that look like 2rare that don’t dance but make some fye ass music. A lot of people say I look like him which is crazy because I don’t dance. I want to meet him and take a picture so people can see we are two different people. 



What inspired you do music?


I always used to listen to Pooh Shiesty and Big30 and loved that sound, I tried to start making music with Memphis beats but I realized that type of accent wouldn’t work with my voice. I started making music based off my favorite artist may his soul rest in peace Lil Keed. He Passed so I started looking for melodic beats and I elevated and adapted to a different sound.



Can you describe your creative process when you write music? 


I used to write everything out then when I find a beat I’ll practice the lyrics over and over until I record it. Now I’ll look at something or think about something and find a beat and freestyle. Since I have my own studio setup. It’s way easier vs when I first started. I rap a lot about past experiences , females and sex.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jason James Written by Jason James

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.