Motivation logo

Meet Brooklyn Von Schweet

Meet Brooklyn Von Schweet

By Sarah BlessingPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name and where are you from?

My name is Brooklynn Von Schweet and I am 29 years old originally from Jamaica, New York. Repping BK and Queens all day!

Why do you love what you do?

To put it simply I believe that variety is the spice of life and learning is a lifelong journey so that is why I am a huge fan of the entreprenuer and artist lifestyles,

I love being an entreprenuer because the open come-with-what-you’ve-got community of entrepreneurship is like no other. Business is already a rat race with everyone trying to get ahead, beat the next guy, and sliding with underhanded deals that leave their employees lacking in pay, resources, and growth. Where does that leave room for fun, innovation, or support? The answer is at the top, but we as hardworking American citizens deserve this growth always… not just when we’ve ran (and won) the rat race.

As an artist I am able to explore all facets of my personality, all modes of creation, and anything that makes my heart sing is encouraged. The only limit is my own self conscious and occasional imposter syndrome.

Right now, my journey as an artist has lead me to focus on modeling primarily and performing arts second. Modeling is honestly something I never thought I would do professionally, it seemed like a job reserved for the ‘Other’, those ‘Unlike Me’ but as I’ve grown older I’ve learned that the only thing keeping me from living the lifestyle that I see as upper echelon is my own preconceived notions.

Performing Arts is a little different for me because I have been singing and dancing my entire life. I love performing arts because it is the only activity that makes me feel truly alive and closest to God.

What makes you different?

What makes myself different is a hard question to ask because the ‘small self’ in my brain would say ‘nothing really’.. BUT THAT IS NOT TRUE. Part of becoming an adult and the development that follows lead me to understand that we are all unique in some way and even off you yourself think that you are the most boring NPC on earth… you are wrong. Because SOMETHING about you is unique, important, and even weird. Rejoice in that fact, it is what makes you human.

I am unique because I care… so so so so so goddamn (can we curse?) much. I care SO FUCKING MUCH. In a world where the internet is King the hardest part of living is the fact that it is now normal + cool to be ‘Blase-Faire’, uncaring, ‘too cool’ and even mean. Who made that rule??? I don’t get it! It’s cool to care, and nothing will make me think differently.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I can see myself being my own CEO, and a world traveller. Nothing would make me happier than owning my own businesses, assisting the less fortunate (of which I was one for many years), and being able to see the entirety of this beautiful planet. There is so much to explore and I would love to explore in five years, and for the next five decades.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

In this lifetime I want to do what everyone says they should.. “solve world hunger, house the homeless.” Ya know? I just want to help, I want to find where the root of our societal issues are and eradicate it. I don’t care about the fame, the profit, or the praise… I just want to help.

What do you bring to your industry?

I bring a clean fresh take. Innovation. Efficiency. I am always looking for the most efficient but also most fun way to get a task done, create a system, or break up a problem.

When I was in acting classes awhile ago at Dearing Acting Studio my instructor always asked me.. “Why do you always begin scenes with a question? It is not helpful for the plot. Stop trying to solve a problem, Be in the problem, be THE problem, but stop trying to solve a problem right away.”

I guess I’ve never fully let that go.

———- What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered by the kindness I showed in my life. The world can be harsh and I learned that at a young age so for all these years I’ve just tried to be as kind and help as many people around me as possible in any way I can, Since it’s all I know how to do I can hope that I’ll be remembered for it at least. Hahahaha.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Blessing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.