Motivation logo

Meet Allen Banks

Meet Allen Banks

By Jason James Published about a year ago 5 min read
Like

How did you start your business?

Initially, my business actually wasn’t a business, I was 17 and going to a Lil Baby concert and needed an outfit, so I decided to paint on a jean set and people liked it, so I continued to do it.

What are some mistakes you wish you could have avoided?

Not having a strong self belief. I would say so because it has caused me to do certain things 2-3 times, instead of just being confident and doing it right the first time.

What advice would you give to starting entrepreneurs?

Listen to God and make him your primary source to talk to when things are going good or bad. Also, it’s just important to keep going regardless of who is in your corner, no matter how bad you want them to support.

How can I come up with a great name for my company?

I have to give my uncle credit for my name actually, he was one of the first to tell me to start a clothing brand.

How do you come up with business ideas?

I’m a very hands on person, so I hand sketch my designs with as much detail as possible. As far as goals and finances, I usually just try to plan ahead a couple of months, with the expectation that everything is subject to change.

How can I protect my idea so others don’t steal it?

Fortunately, no one has tried to steal my ideas. I usually make the most bold/unique designs so that when people see it on my page it’s permanently in their heads that it’s an “All-En” design.

What are the biggest mistakes first-time entrepreneurs can make?

Manufacturing has been my biggest problem so far, be very selective about who you allow to produce your pieces. If they can’t plan ahead with your brand, then they aren’t looking for a long-lasting business relationship.

What kind of entity should I set up if I’m only starting my business journey?

LLC, however with me having personal credit it helped massively as well because some resources you can’t get using your business credit, you can get using your personal credit, so it’s just as important to have this in top shape as well.

What are you most excited about at work right now?

The fact that I finally finished my bachelor’s degree, so now I have more time to to perfect my business, and really apply pressure.

What are your tips for building a great team?

As of now I’m still building my team, however the people I have worked with, and plan to add to my team have qualities such as honesty, faith, and belief. Faith is really big to me, God is so important.

How do you market your business?

I use painting to produce organic trafffic to my pages, and I just try to come up with the best original ideas for reels and posts to make individuals say, “Oh wow, this is a new brand, but they’re dope”.

What online marketing techniques do you use?

Online marketing wasn’t a big thing for me this year, it was a lot of local support. However, to my customers that did buy from me online with my little promotion, thank you so much. 2023 I have so much in store.

How should I decide where to set up my business?

Set it up wherever you can, start now!

How did you push through your biggest business doubts?

God, I go and talk to him, let out whatever I have to, and it’s back to work.

How did you handle fast growth and scale your business?

Quick adjustments, don’t dwell on what could have been better, fix it and focus on what went well. All positive energy, everything is a learning process.

What are the most common mistakes that new business owners make?

Trying to make money quickly off existing trends and designs, it’s okay to ride your own wave.

How do you plan for the future of your business?

Lots of brainstorming initially, then I go into the phases of production. Starting with multiple detailed sketches of each piece.

How do you evaluate the past ups/downs of your business?

I do a lot recording so when a memory comes up I look at my growth and just reflect on how far I’ve come.

What advice would you give to a new business owner?

Take it day by day, most importantly just listen to God.

What’s non-negotiable when you start a business?

The work that will need to be put in, it’s not easy when it’s being done the right way.

How do you craft a great mission statement?

Think of your personal values, what is most important to you, and apply it to your business. Also, think of what message do you want to send to younger generations they will be watching closely.

How did you raise funding for your business?

I started with nothing, I worked a full-time job and used it to fund my business.

How has your business shifted over time?

First, it was a hobby, now it is truly as business I love so much. Without this, I don’t think I would understand my purpose. In the next couple years, all I want is too have influenced younger generations with something new and positive.

What KPIs do you use to measure your business success?

-Shopify places everything in one place, a great platform. This year though, I’m sure it will become much more complex, so I’m just prepping myself.

What are you working on now?

Honestly, so much. I’m aiming to make history this year. New collections, new ideas, new visuals, new connections, new everything. I’m super pumped for this upcoming year, it will be great for the brand.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.