Motivation logo

Live like you're starving

There is no more motivating circumstance than being hungry.

By Search MotivationPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Live like you are famished, utilize that spirit and motivation in your life because if you genuinely desire something if you really feel that you require something, then practice being hungry for it will get you one step closer to making it a reality, even if the opportunity may not be readily available or even visible, if you are truly hungry and searching, it will reveal itself to you in time. And when you will find that just in the process that even embarking on your journey to becoming that individual you say you sought to become, you will find that in the preparation that you have already checked off all of the prerequisites, in the very search of developing that kind of character you will find that you have already inadvertently become that person. The journey is always more important than the destination.

That person does not simply exist though, they aren't born like that they are moulded into that, through experiences positive or negative. They are forged in the fire or nourished like a flower in a garden, that belief can blossom organically, but when fed water and sunshine, it will spring up strong enough to endure independently, do not permit that feeling to wither away or be stamped on. Allow it to develop, when it flourishes into what it was destined to become you will become that very thing you thought unachievable. The very things we admire in leaders, teachers, scholars and philosophers you will find is a choice they made. Instead of complacency within the means of the mediocrity and normalcy, they opted to go against the grain. They consciously made the decision to do something different. Nourish that flower as it shows others what is possible because, for a large majority of us, we need someone to lead by example. That potential is within all of us, we just need some sunlight to bring it out.

Anything is possible and you are no exception. Depression and anxiety at one point had me in a place where I didn't know what I wanted, I was fully aware of what I required. I needed to pay rent I needed to get stuff done, but anxiety refused to allow me to look beyond that, and depression couldn't allow me to even fathom or indulge in a dream. I had seen dreams come and go within my circle of friends and family, watching them set out to do something and fail. But the defining attribute I found in all of them was that they allowed that failure to cloud the success. Instead of using that feeling they simply gave up and moved on, what that implies to me is that they were never truly hungry. For some of us, it takes all of our adult life to find something we are passionate about, I was lucky enough to find it earlier this year. I had lived my entire life thinking I was destined to be average. I knew I had things to say, but I convinced myself that no audience would be interested in listening. I didn't let the hunger develop because of the excuse of inadequacy, I believed that in whatever I did I would end up like the majority who was naïve enough to dream. I would attempt a couple of times and give up, but I refuse to allow that to become my reality.

If there is one quality that will benefit me in the pursuit of the improbable it is that stubbornness. When I set my mind to something I get tunnel vision I engage myself in it and immerse myself so deeply that from the outside looking in, it would only be describable as obsessed. Develop this in your life and career and your own self made limitations is the only obstacle you will need to overcome. Find something you are hungry for something that if you could indulge in would bring you true happiness, allow that feeling and need to consume you and most importantly live like you are starving.

advice
2

About the Creator

Search Motivation

In life it is easy to find negativity instead. try SearchMotivation.

https://searchmotivation.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.