Motivation logo

Little Did I Know

So Much Would Change

By LaBree JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Former Model and Founder of S.A.P & S.A.S

It was the winter of 2020. Society was changing. People were changing as well. Not everyone was changing but some of us were having transformations. Whether it be the change in appearance, social status, class, or way of thinking, people were changing. Some people fear change but it can be a wonderful thing. Sometimes change is necessary for reasons we may or may not understand.

It was winter time in Ohio. I had recently gone back to my lovely career as an entertainer. It was long hours and traveling alone to be back on stage once again. It was a very satisfying career. It was also a wonderful way to be around like-minded people and people with different perspectives than us. I had been getting a different kind of hype and more attention as expected. The reactions were bit of a surprise to me though.

I believe some people were very happy to be a part of the new evolution so to speak. I did notice that not everyone was thrilled about me becoming more than just the entertainer they expected. I was now writing books, invited to host, and beginning new projects. It was soon obvious that their attitudes had changed. I began to notice and hear comments that I didn’t appreciate and ultimately just made them sound like haters.

So, one day, I went into work. I was so glad to be there. I had devoted 12 years of my life to that career. I always made it a more fun and positive atmosphere. I usually went above and beyond to make it a better experience. I know what a difference I made to be honest. I began to get ready in the dressing room. I noticed a really ridiculous flyer and remembered rude comments from the newer staff. I decided to leave and not come back. It wasn’t the first time I had walked out but it was the last. I didn’t go back. I had confidence and faith in myself. I knew it was time to transform in a way.

I developed more skills. I began to create more stories. I started designing. I began creating new opportunities. At times, I thought maybe I’m taking on too much. In reality, all the things I began to do lead into greater possibilities. I also started doing things I had missed doing.

A pandemic was the cause of some situations changing. People needed to be very cautious. Everyone was made to take an abundance of caution in an attempt to slow or stop the spread of sickness. Others changed because it was their time to evolve into their greater self.

Personally, I had already been living in a recluse like nature due to my new unexpected status. I had received unwanted attention on a regular. I never had a problem with being admired or desired. I did feel uncomfortable when I would go out in public and everyone knew who I was and I didn’t know them. To make it worse, they just kind of talked about who I was and would jump on their phones to tell people on the other line that I had arrived. I didn’t bother me for a long time but eventually was a bit strange to me. I didn’t treat people like that. Most of the people were like admiring or happy I was around. Though some people didn’t talk to me they just talked about me. So regardless of how I feel about it, it too was a new experience for me to go through. It just made me become a bit more of a private person. Becoming a more private person similar to a recluse helped me realize why people are like that to begin with. I don’t mind being a social butterfly or any of the other ways I am. I just thought it was very interesting to go through. As always, I made the best of the situation. I learned from it and tried a new way of doing things just because I wanted to.

I didn’t realize that I would get the opportunity to evolve into the best version of myself through walking out of my workplace. Today I can tell you that is what I did. Sometimes, we have situations change, it is the choices we make after the change that decide our future. I will continue to evolve and grow into a better version of myself every day.

success
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.