Motivation logo

Life of a Liver Transplant Recipent

Second chance of life.

By Bernice AnnePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Hi all my name is Bernice Allan, I am currently 24 years old, I have completed in Numerous Australian Transplant Games and One World Transplant Games which was held in 2009 based in Gold Coast Australia. At Nine months old in 1996 my life was changed forever. My parents were told that I have 24 hours to live due to a serious liver conditon which was callied Bilary Atresia which is an imcomplete development of the bile duct. Just as my loved ones were about to say good bye I was rushed into theatre for 10 hours to recieve the 'Gift of Life' which was Liver Transplant on Valentines Day (14th Feburary 1996). I just celebrated 24 years since having this transplant. Most have to wait, days, week, months or even years to recieve an organ transplant but my parents and health professionals knew I wouldn't be able to survive if i didn't recieve a new liver within the 24 hours. Due to my liver condition that I was diagnosed with at 24 hours to live I now from Hearing loss which I have a mental plate in my head to wear a baha and waiting for my left side of my head to be done. I also suffer from severe sleep apnoea, have to wear glasses or contact lenses due to an eye condition called astigmatism. When I started schooling my parents was told that I am going to suffer from Developmental Delay which is classed as an Intellectual Disability which I was placed in a Special Needs class or mainstream throughout my whole schooling. I was involved in 'Bandage Bear Day' which was selling bandage bears to raise money for an operating theatre, Little Livers' which was doing fundraising for people in need while going through this experience. I get involved in Fundraising events because I love working in the community. Fundraising helps improve the lives of people that are living or knows someone that is living with an illness or disease. I have been helped, so I want to help others. I think that I will always help other people because I'm a caring person and I want people to be happy and healthy. Due to having a Liver Transplant I have to take Cyclosprin twice a day orally, this medication stops my liver from being rejected. Even thought I suffer from Borderline Personaility Disorder, Depression, Anxiety, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, other mental and physical health problems. I am about graduate from my Certificate III in Individual Support (Disability), I left my family and friends in South Australia to move to Victoria with my partner. My main goal is to become a Nurse or Transplant Nurse. Having this Liver Transplant has changed mine and my loved ones life around, as its has given me a second chance of life. It has made me who I am today. I think that I am a caring person and have a good personality. If I didnt recieve the transplant, I wouldn't be involved in fundraising and completing in the Australian and World Transplant Games. This would also meant that I wouldn't have met all the amazing and caring friends that I have today.

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.