Motivation logo

Let Me Break It Down

by: Nerissha Hunt

By Nerissha HuntPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

No one is perfect in this world. So why do we look down on people so much? I’m not you and you are not me. The world is so full of various judgments. Drug users, alcoholics, the list goes on. I’m going to break things down one by one.

First, I want to talk about people with this concept of children should only be born when a woman is married. That’s just a concept. It does not make a woman a bad person because she has a child without being married. You don’t know the situation behind how that child was brought into the world. For the record, children are not accidents, mistakes or see what had happened was. It could have a violent act against a woman of any form and a child was the result. So, don’t be quick to judge.

I’m not an expert on drug use or alcoholism. What I do know is that there is a reason for everything. A person doesn’t wake up one day feeling this way. It’s based on experience. We don’t know their experiences and we are not in their body. We are quick to call names or say something negative about the person. But those names and negativity that you say about that person hurts their feelings and is judgmental. You need to be a support system.

A suicide attempt or thoughts does not make you weak. We all experience different things. Some people can handle it better than others; some can’t. Some people feel that they are better off dead. We are all entitled to our own feelings. Don’t tell someone how to feel because no one is in the other person’s shoes. You don’t know what that person is going through so instead of being judgmental, offer support. Let the person know that you care about them. People say that you go to hell for committing suicide. We don’t know that for a fact.

People think that they can judge where someone’s soul goes when they pass away. Wrong. You have no control over that. Nobody has that wisdom, knowledge or that type of power. I’ve heard of death bed confessions. People call out forgive me Lord before they pass away. All I ever hear people say is, I hope they got it right before they died. That’s between them and the Lord.

Church folk, church folk. Who died and made ya’ll king or queen? Please let me know. This is one that I can’t wrap my head around. You don’t run the show so get that out of your mind. Live and let live. You don’t have to agree with things that happen in church. Keep your opinions to yourself. If you don’t like brother or sister so and so, then stay away from them. You don’t have to agitate people or cause problems. You are only showing your IQ, which apparently, isn’t that high. Get somewhere and sit down.

We are all an ex-something and we are still something now. Stop trying to act like you haven’t done anything in your life. You have done something. What gets me is some people say that they don’t something knowing full well what they are talking about is the main thing that they spend the most time doing. Notice I said some, not all. Help me Holy Ghost.

The world can be a better place. Like I said at the beginning, I’m not you and you are not me. To conclude I say: We are in control of our minds. So, know what’s important, life is short, make the best of your time.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nerissha Hunt

Writing is not a talent; it's a gift. My stories are transparent. Not fact, not fiction. They are in a category to themselves.

You never know what to expect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.