Motivation logo

Lessons are Trophies

Winning starts from learning the lesson of losing

By Samuel Nissi UchePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Lessons are Trophies

It is disappointing to encounter failure especially when you put in so much effort to achieve success. i remember when I started out my coaching career, I had just finished my course so I got my first client (still under the supervision of my Coach).

She needed help pulling out of a bad habit and she sought for me to help her. I was really excited that I had the chance to practice what I had learned, and I was given a timeframe of one month to help her sort the problem.

I went in with so much hope and expectation that I was going to fix her and help her become better. I tried all I could with all the skills I learned from coaching school, but nothing changed with her. In fact, she got frustrated and went back into the addictive loop.

I really was disappointed that I couldn’t do anything to help her, and I felt even worse when after the help of someone I recommended to her she got better. One month later she had attained victory over that habit.

I was disappointed in myself, I thought I had it all, I thought what I learned by the book was enough to achieve success with her, but things just went south and I felt like giving up.

ROOM OF NEGATIVITY

This is where a lot of people end up, the room of negativity. You begin to lament, you begin to tell yourself that you are not good enough. Then your body begins to play the negation game of the mind, making it feel helpless.

I stayed in this room far too long than I should have because the expectations I had was too high a target and I could not deal with the fact that I missed.

I was soaked in misery and I didn’t bother to know what went wrong, why I could not achieve what I set out for, and this is where a lot of us miss it!

Life didn’t go as plan, so what? You couldn’t meet your target, does self-pity help? Why are you sulking and hateful of yourself, does that fix the problem?

For every setback you face there is a valuable lesson that can help you bounce back stronger. Trophies are not only in winning, but also in lessons!

A man who fails once and succeeds later is more knowledgeable than the man who never failed at all. The difference is lesson he learned from both failing and succeeding.

If it gets bad or messy, your first psychological response should be “what went wrong? Is it fixable? How do I fix it? Do I need external help? How do I make sure it doesn’t happen again?

If the experience you get from failure or challenges doesn’t put in the right thought-pattern, then you’ll miss the consolation prize the situation brought you.

It is okay to feel bad or angry for not getting your desired result, but you can still channel that energy into something much more positive if only you take the lessons with you!

The real achievers of our time are those highly motivated individuals who never allowed the sight of failure get in the way of their success.

The end of a dream is not when you fail, but when you decide not to push anymore because you’re too discouraged to move on. The challenge you face is your testimony turned inside out. Don’t turn your back just yet in despair, don’t lose the motivation to keep going, and don’t judge your success with other people’s validation.

success
1

About the Creator

Samuel Nissi Uche

I am a Writer, Certified Life Coach, Business Strategist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.