Motivation logo

Legendary Poetry

Poems by Legend van Beek

By Legend GilchristPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Legendary Poetry
Photo by Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

The Journey: A story about life

Sometimes the journey starts with anguish. Sometimes with trepidation. Both were true as for me this time as I stood before the perilous trail before me. A sense of fear enveloped me as I considered the monumental task before me. Looking at the spectacular mountain ahead of me, I took in a deep breath and wondered if I had the courage to proceed. I had completed missions similar to this I reasoned. I will conquer this one, as well. Yet I had never faced a challenge so great as the one before me now.

They say that the first step is the hardest one. I have always found this to be true. Sometimes that first step is a step of faith. Blind faith sometimes is all that we have and possess at times like this. Sometimes you need to trust you own gut instinct and go ahead despite of the obstacles ahead.

I leaned forward bravely to begin my quest only to discover that my path was far more difficult than I imagined. Or at least it seemed that way. I steeled my resolve and began my journey, a journey that I would soon learn was fraught with both crippling fear and great joy. And so ahead I began my journey perhaps naively but definitely with a sense of adventure.

As soon I moved on I was surprised to find that the challenge before me, which I thought would be exceedingly difficult was refreshingly easy. I moved ahead proud of the fact that my talents and skills would not be put to the test should the trail remain as it was, straight, level, and comfortable. I found myself having fresh courage and my countenance raised brightly.

As I walked the pleasant path, I took in my surroundings and enjoyed every minute of the time that passed. My mood was light and cheery as I strolled along. Would the rest of the journey be as wonderful as this, I wondered? Surely it would as I looked ahead and only saw an unchallenging path on my journey. Joy filled my heart and happiness beckoned me on. Little did I know that my luck would change soon.

As I ambled on enjoying my stroll, I stumbled upon a trail that was unexpected. What is this? Where have I led myself to? The trail that I thought was straight and true ended with a drop off that I hadn't expected. The path was steep and treacherous and surrounded by obstacles that presented great danger. I wondered if my skills and talents were adequate to proceed through the dangerous path. I gazed to the top of the obstacle that I had to overcome and my heart sank.

My countenance immediately fell. I had not anticipated such a change in my luck so quickly. The pleasant trail that gave me such joy was now a I was now a challenge to my very soul. Sadly, the fear that I had experienced at the head of the trail returned me. I now realized that my journey would not be as easy as I had hoped for. My body trembled at the realization that to accomplish my goal I would have to move on boldly though it could mean my end.

After only a few short moments, I found myself scaling giant granite boulders with sharp edges that cut my fingers, hands, and legs. I howled out in pain with each slice from the sharp edges of th hardened stone I was scaling.Unimaginable pain worked it's way into my very soul and sinews of my now weakened body. I cried out in pain with each new slice and wished for it to end. My steps grew weaker and my progress grew more slowly. My legs and feet felt as if heavy weights had burdened them and my strides came to a crawl. And yet I continued slowly but steadily on the journey before me.

Inch by painful inch, step by excruciating step I grapeled and struggled to accomplish lofty goal. I look forward to check my progress but this only discourag me. It seemed that every time I took a glimps my destination was further than when I began. I wondered if I would make it to the top of this mountain that I was scaling at all. And yet, with bold determination I pressed on with all the courage I could muster. I would not let the struggles that I was currently eduring prevent me from achieving my goal.

With my heart beating so hard that I thought it would explode in my chest, I struggled with all my might to reach the top. My body trembled uncontrollably, my muscles burned with fatigue and yet I was bound and determined to achieve my goal. Finally, I was just feet from the place that I both worked and strived so hard to get to. At, last I lifted myself to the top of my destination. I had finally made it. I had finished my journey. I stood up confidently and yelled at the top of my lungs, "Yes! I made it! Nothing can stop me now!"

Finally, reaching the pinnacle I breathed a sigh of relief celebrating silently my strenuous accomplishment. I picked myself from the ground triumphently and yelled out a another primitive howl to let the world know of my success. Silent masses yelled their approval unknowingly to the fact of why they were doing so. They did not know that they were celebrating their own successes and achievements.

As so it is with life. We struggle through the journeys our own, enduring painful setbacks and celebrating great successes. Our journeys make us both who and what we are. We are all curious adventurers to one extent or another blazing our own unique paths of live as we sojourn from place to place. Like the traveler, those of us who have the bald courage to do so reach amazing plateaus that mark our success in the story of our lives. We live, we learn, was conquer the very things that attempt to break us.

The weaker of us fail. The stronger of us, even if you only have the strength of a child as I do on occassion, reach the top of the mountains of our lives stand firm and yelled out a corageous yawp at our success. It is moments like this that define us, that change us forever for the better. It is times like this that blossom our hearts and make us anew. And it is time like this that make us the brilliant and amazing people that we truly are and make both our world and the world around us a better place.

success
Like

About the Creator

Legend Gilchrist

I am a retired English teacher. I have been writing for 27 years. I live in the Palm Springs area of Southern California. I am a poet, writer, and novelist. I enjoy writing about rock music culture. I hope to write for Rolling Stone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.