Motivation logo

Leadership Is a Verb

Actions, not titles, define the person.

By Joshua WarrenPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
If they are unwilling to follow, you are not yet in leadership

When I earned my first management position, I was elated. FINALLY! People had finally given me the credit I DESERVED!

I had this grand notion that with the flick of my wrist, the stroke of a pen, that all of these great ideas I had locked away would be done and completed and those I was tasked with leading would instantly follow. I mean, why wouldn't they?

  • I'm likable
  • I'm freaking awesome
  • I have great hair
  • Those in upper management saw something great in me
  • I have great ideas

Someone would have to be a fool not to follow my lead... right?

Three months in, to say I was disappointed was an understatement. Out of the 10 people I was responsible for, exactly 1 was following my lead, 4 openly would not listen to me, 2 were downright rude, and the other 3 were hardly in the office. It was miserable.

I went in to my COO for a 1-on-1, and he gave me what I now view as the most important butt-chewing I've ever received.

"Josh, no one cares about anything other than results. That goes for most in C-level management, as well as your employees. Show them results, and they will listen. If they listen to what you are saying, and they feel as though you have their backs, there is a chance they will have yours."

"Fact of the matter is, you've been an average manager... and you aren't anywhere close to being a leader."

Just like that, I crawled back to my office bruised, battered, and unsure of not only my future at that organization, but my future as a leader.

Chalk all of that up to a very valuable lesson learned...

For those of you who are striving to get into leadership roles, and to those of you who are currently there, the most important thing to understand is this:

"Lead" is a not a noun. It's not a person, a place, or a thing. "Lead" is a verb. You can't be a leader without the action or movement that comes with leading.

So, here are 5 things you can do right now to begin the journey of leadership.

1. Take ownership of the bad/difficult.

One of the most important ideas a true leader has is the fact that he or she owns those situations others don't want to be in. That difficult phone call, that tough conversation... a real leader takes those situations and turns them into opportunities to lead.

Anyone can make the welcome call, the happy call. Not many can show up in person and deal with the upset customer. Rarely can someone take ownership of problems that weren't caused by them directly. No one said being a leader was easy, though...

2. Give credit to others.

When the good things happen and when positive news comes out, step aside and let those you are in charge of deliver the news. I heard Jimmy Johnson (former Coach of the Miami Hurricanes, Dallas Cowboys, and Miami Dolphins) once say that his job as the coach was to, at the end of the day, stand up at the podium and deflect negativity directed at his players and place it on his shoulders. When good things happened, his job was to sell "team, team, team."

A leader isn't in it for the accolades. A leader is in it to grow and develop others, to make others successful. Are you willing to take all negative and give all positive? If not, you aren't ready for leadership.

3. Act dependably.

One of the basic tenants of leadership is the fact that you are reliable. No one has to wonder whether or not you will show up. It's like breathing... you will do it regardless of the situation. Trust is one of the main aspects of any good relationship, and whether or not you are dependable goes a long way into determining whether or not someone can trust you.

4. Work hard.

Nothing shows someone else your commitment like hard work. This seems like it should be a "duh" moment, but so many times it's not. Be the first to arrive and the last to leave. Be willing to go farther and do more than is required. Leading is showing an example to others.

5. Be good to, and for, others.

So many leaders and managers miss out on this one. They work hard, they are dependable, but they are terrible to others if it means they get what they want. Do your job, do it well, create results, but don't do it off the backs of others. Don't do it while treating other employees or vendors like crap. That is not a leadership trait worth following. Yes, some have gotten away with acting this way in the past. Don't be that person though.

In short, I have always wanted to "do..." not just "be." Those who make significant impacts have rarely been those who sat there and let the world come to them. Impactful leaders move, drive, consult, train, teach, mentor, give and take. Leaders, real leaders, are verbs.

Go be a verb today.

success
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Warren

I'm a business guy, a husband, a father, a follower of Christ. I know quite a bit about what I know...

I write about business, sales, personal life, and everything in between. I get a kick out of winning, success, everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • David Banches2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing your experience, not many people are ready to talk about their failures. When my teacher and I discussed what true leadership means, we could not agree on whether everyone can become a leader. I still believe that if a person really wants it, then he will succeed, but after reading this paper https://gradesfixer.com/free-essay-examples/what-true-leadership-means/ I realized that the issue is much broader. Now I understand that it is not enough to follow the instructions, you need to clearly understand your responsibility, because history knows many examples of bad leadership. This is one of the main qualities of a strong person - to understand his role in society and fulfill it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.