Motivation logo

June Shelton—Actor & Creator

June Shelton

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

For those that don’t know you, can you introduce yourself?

My name is June Shelton and Im an actor from Detroit.

What do you think makes you different as an artist?

The thing with me is, i’m not just an actor. Im a CREATOR! There is a difference. There are actors that can act, but they can’t CREATE a project; and there is nothing wrong with that. I’ve written and produced my own content; thats actually how I got started. I stopped for awhile because It felt forced, but i’m finding my voice again and getting back to it. I know I have a natural ability to make people laugh, so a lot of my work is going to gravitate toward that. But I also want to get into romantic dramas as well, because that seems to be my life anyway.

What do you want to accomplish in your career?

I just want to be a household name, work with my favorite artist, and have fun doing it! Often times we look at the word “success” and think Oscars, Grammys, academy awards, etc., but I never cared about that. Although I have always wanted a BET Award! But my main goal is to just create and show people that its possible. I want to use my talents to change the lives of those around me. I think thats what we were all put here to do; to create and inspire the next generation. Some day I wont be here anymore, but I want my gift to be my imprint. I want it to say “June was here. June made a difference. June brought something different.”

So where do you see yourself in this industry in 5 years?

Preferably with a few more films under my belt! I would LOVE to have a role on a Netflix or Hulu show. That would be amazing! I always watched tv shows growing up, and loved how the characters evolved over the seasons. I love that because its realistic. No one stays the same. Thats why I kind of stopped watching cartoons. For example, Spongebob has been on for over 10 years and he is still the exact same. No growth. No change. Nothing. So i love realistic shows, and I would LOVE to have a lead role on one within the next 5 years.

What do you bring to the entertainment world?

I feel like I bring a fresh face and new energy. I have a very interesting sense of humor as well as artistic timing, and if groomed properly, I think I could literally steal the show on any set. So right now im sort grooming myself, going to auditions, doing improv, doing sketches, and kind of keeping my tools sharp. I already know what my purpose is, I just dont know the exact road to get there yet. However, I am enjoying the ride. Like they say, you have to trust the process. It’s more about the journey than the destination.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

The only legacy I want to leave is that June gave 100 percent every time! I want people to remember me as someone put his heart in everything he touched and always gave back. I do want to start up a foundation as well. I have always wanted to create a foundation that helps young single mothers who are struggling. Whether thats helping them find a job, helping them get into school, child care, or simply just providing them with the basic necessities. Being a parent is already hard enough, no one should have to do it alone at a young age. I feel like there is this stigma that as soon as you get pregnant before you are at least 23, your life is over. And I dont think thats true. So i want to do my part in helping.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.