Motivation logo

Jess Daniels

Blossoming In Entertainment

By Amy PhilbertPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3
Photo Credit: Melanie Morabito Photography/ MUA Lauren Moore

What a complete honor it was to be able to interview Ms. Jessica "Jess" Daniels! She is such an amazingly talented young actress, model, and singer! Jess goes on to tell her story of her successes, family background and the great blood line she came from! It's no wonder that Jess is doing amazing things in the industry! Jess is a go-getter, and we can definitely see her making a huge splash in Hollywood soon! Read on as Jess tells her personal story, including meeting famous actress, Julie Ormond!

Q & A

Question: What do you want the world to know about who you are?

Jess Daniels: My name is Jess Daniels. I am a commercial and print model and actress. I am multi-racial; Black, White, Mexican and Puerto Rican. I was a extra on The World Beyond ,was in a ECPI commercial, which is airing now and was in a Banister Nissan commercial, which will be airing soon! I was in three episodes of l"Lets Make A Deal" where I was a troll (lol) . I was highlighted on Project Castings Instagram for up in coming actors and finished 13th in the semi finals for the 2021 Miss Jetset Magazine contest. I am hard working and passionate. This is my dream so I am determined to break the door down and show the world who I am !

Question: What is your greatest accomplishment or best story about someone famous you worked with?

Jess Daniels: I was lucky enough to share a scene with the legend, Julie Ormond, and I was lucky enough to meet her during a break in between scenes! All day I was telling myself if I got to speak to her, I would tell her "I will love you forever" a line from Legends of the Fall, her movie with Brad Pitt. I finally shook her hand and told her I'm a huge fan and I go mind blank! I'm like "No I had it!" Thankfully she was kind enough to finish the line for me which made my day hearing her say her famous line in person, even if I did make an ass out of myself. As for my greatest accomplishment, I think that is yet to come.

"As for my greatest accomplishment, I think that is yet to come." -Jess Daniels

Question: What is/was your greatest struggle?

Jess Daniels: Finding a agency that truly represents me. I went through so many ones where they make you audition, they pick you then say, "for X amount of dollars, we can make you a star!" You pay... then nothing . Knowing how to navigate this business and not get scammed and not let the no’s detour you from continuing to push yourself to make your dream a reality.

Question: How did you get your start?

Jess Daniels: When I was little, my aunt put me into every singing competition around town. I won our states version of "Showtime" at The Apollo, singing Mariah Carey's "Love Takes Time". I entered any competition possible, hoping one would lead to my big break.

Question: What current projects are you working on?

Jess Daniels: I am so excited and blessed to be working on a pilot, hopefully being picked up with Disney! Its written by the amazingly talented Mrs. Amy Philbert(Serna), who is also Casting Director. This pilot will be Directed by Diezel Ramos and Mortimer M. Philbert, Sr, who also owns High Profile Entertainments & Productions, Inc. and will be scoring the pilot! I know its going to be something special. The cast and crew are truly something special; not to sound biased but when I read the script, but I feel like its a blend of Fresh Prince meets Clarissa Explains It, mixed with Family Matters- its something that hasn't been on T.V. in a long time and something the whole family will love! I'm very hopeful for what is to come with this project and I'm beyond blessed they picked me to be apart of it !

Question: Do you have any regrets? What would you have done different along the way in your career?

Jess Daniels: I wish I would have taken more chances sooner and not to doubt myself as much; not worry about what people will think about me pursuing my dream of acting and just do it.

Question: What would you say to date has been your most memorable moment?

Jess Daniels: There have been a lot-probably The World Beyond-it was my first real T.V. set and seeing the zombies was something I'll never forget.

Question: How long has it taken you to get to where you are in your goal, passion, or dream?

Jess Daniels: Its taken me about 4 years to get where I am now, but I have wanted to do this since I was little. I have two girls and being a mom comes first. I am lucky they are at an age now where I am able to make time to pursue my dreams as well as help them reach theirs.

Question: Did you receive any formal training in your field?

Jess Daniels: Yes, I have worked with Pro Model and Talent. They trained me in runway, commercial and print photo movement and getting audition ready. Also, Bailey's Entertainment Group and Liquid Talent Agency.

Question: Where would you eventually like to see your career go?

Jess Daniels: I am hoping to make my way as a serious actress. I want to show the world I am a true entertainer and show what I can do in my craft. I truly feel like this is what I was meant to do. I just need the chance to show the right people and hopefully get the chance to prove myself worthy

Question: Who is your biggest influence?

Jess Daniels: In acting, I would have to say Denzel Washington. The amount you could learn from that man, just being in a room with him, would be like taking the best acting class in the world . Also, Robert Downey Jr. because he is the true definition of a come back kid. He was at rock bottom and didn't just come back up- he blew the freaking roof off and made himself a legend! In life, my Grandparents-my grand father was a retired Chief Master Sergeant in the Air Force. He was shot in the back of his leg and head and still kept going. He lived to be 86 . My grandmother was handicap, but she didn't let that stop her. A Sunday school teacher, she wrote a letter to then President Bush and got him to put "Children's Day" back on the calendars and held an annual parade for 4 years before her health declined. They both stood up for what they believed in and didn't give up.

Question: Who are your biggest or best supporters and who are the people who support you the least?

Jess Daniels: My grandparents were my biggest supporters before they passed, but now, my two biggest cheerleaders are my girls, Kaitlyn and Kenzie.

"My grandparents were my biggest supporters before they passed, but now, my two biggest cheerleaders are my girls, Kaitlyn and Kenzie."-Jess Daniels

Question: What words of advice do you have for anyone with the same passion to be where you are?

Jess Daniels: You have two choices-continue to sleep with your dreams or wake up and chase them. Its never to late to dream it real!

Feel free to follow Jess Daniels on IG @Lovesmygirls0810 and watch her career grow! We know we'll be seeing your name in lights SOON, Jess!

interview
3

About the Creator

Amy Philbert

I am a plus size Model, Actress, Filmmaker, Writer, Blogger, podcast Co-Host, Casting Director and Interviewer who is just trying to shed some light on a world that can sometimes feel dark.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.