Motivation logo

Jai Emm

Jai Emm

By Jason James Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Janelle Mitchell, famously known as Jai Emm, is a professional musical artist and songwriter from Queens, NY with a smooth and powerful voice. She amazes crowds with her blazing vocals and lyrics about love and life.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

I’m different as a person and an artist because I learned very early in life that I’m special no matter who sees it. I’ve built a life uplifting myself and those around me and challenging them to find and develop what makes them special. I’m imperfect and I celebrate that. I’m honest about the things I’ve been through, the things I’ve done and the things that I shouldn’t have. I’m able to connect with people deeply with little effort because I hold empathy in high esteem. That empathy and relativity are represented in my music. My songs are genuine conversations with myself recorded for others to hear.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

In life, I want to accomplish full understanding of myself and others. I believe that all toxic thoughts and actions come from internal negativity. If people were more self-aware, they would be able to effectively address their issues and emotions before acting out.  I want to be a catalyst for people trying to be the best versions of themselves. Inspiration is a cycle and the same people who you inspire are in turn your muses. It’s a utopian goal but I strive for universal ascension because I know the difference a single person can make in the life of another. Imagine what the world could be if we all dedicated ourselves to being good to others.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years, anything could happen. I’ll be a more established singer and songwriter with a couple of plaques and a Grammy or 5. I’ll be an actress, a tv show producer, an app developer and more. As I grow, I’ll find new interests to develop. I take pride in being multifaceted so in 5 years I’ll have more than enough streams of income to be comfortable and build generational wealth. I have a strong familial connection and I want to spark entrepreneurship in my loved ones. Ideally, I’d love to watch and contribute to their achievements. Most importantly, in 5 years, I want to remain at peace.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring a combination of humility and excellence to the music world. I think music, in general, has become very judgmental and divisive between different sub-genres, particularly within the hip hop and R&B world. I can make a polished product that highlights my musicianship and the years I’ve put into developing my craft. I’m just as capable of having fun with my songs, not taking them too seriously and appreciating the freedom of creation. I don’t believe in “real” music even though it’s how my content is described. I find balance between contemporary and experimental to create a sound that is both unique and familiar.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

The legacy of freedom I want to leave behind begins with the release of my upcoming project, Laissez Faire. I’ve always lived life at my own accord but this project is my self-validation. No matter what people say I move with a purpose whether that purpose is understood or not. I want to inspire people from all walks of life to do what fulfills them. Nothing has to make sense it just has to happen. I believe in magic and that it lives within everyone if they unlock it. I don’t want to be a legend unless it’s for inspiring legends.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.