Motivation logo

Is Change Freaking You Out

How to tell if it's Fear or a Sign you're on the wrong path

By Andrea RichiePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I love home improvement shows. I've always thought I'd love to have someone come in and redo my house (of course I need to buy one first).

I think I'd be great on one of those shows because I love that kind of change. Of course I'm also the girl that painted every wall in my first apartment a different color (green, yellow, orange, & purple).

Change can be both exciting and scary.

Even when you want change, getting it can be overwhelming. That's why a lot of hairstylists, designers, and even coaches will give you a watered down version of what you say you want. 

In my opinion they do that more for them than you. People say they want big dramatic change, then they first see it and freak out. Gut reaction is to want things to go back to how they used to be because that is comfortable (comfortable = safe). Then they have to undo all their hard work. 

Have you ever worked really hard on something and then almost immediately had to undo it all? It can feel soul crushing.

When I first started dying my hair purple I had to go back twice after because I was so disappointed that it wasn't purple enough. I went to work & no one even noticed. I went home and cried. I almost didn't call my stylist to complain. Technically it was purple, even if indoors it looked like a boring dark brown.

The second time I went back I said "I want people to look at me and say f*ck her hair is purple" Once she knew I wouldn't freak out, we got to the point where she wouldn't even tell me what she was doing or what colors.

I'm fearless when it comes to dramatic changes to my hair or house. I think it has a lot to do with my belief that everything is fixable. You can recolor your hair or go to a different stylist for another cut (A good stylist can fix most things). You can repaint, return furniture, replace the floors (it's not always cheap, but it can be fixed).

Then there's change that's harder for me.

Changing careers, ending relationships, and changing my routine are changes that I used to overthink(that's code for they freaked me out because they have the potential to change my life). 

I used to think about them forever before I did anything about them. There was a lot of start and stop and start over. There was this feeling that I had 1 shot to get it right. 

Even when you really want change there's a good chance you'll hit a spot where you start to panic a little and get the urge to leave things as they are.

No worries it's natural to get those feelings. What matters is what you do next.

Now is when you have to get brutally honest with yourself. What's freaking you out about the change? 

Is it that you're realizing you don't actually want it? 

I used to work with a woman that was in constant competition with her friends. Her friend got a BMW so she worked her ass off to get a BMW. Finally she traded in the car she absolutely adored for this new car that (if we're being honest) she hated. 

If you don't want it, stop. No guilt.

Does it feel like you're going down the wrong path? 

I had a coach that kept pushing me to focus my business towards helping other people figure out their businesses. I tried to go with it. I created an offer focused solely on business (then I procrastinated and talked clients out of choosing that option). Honestly that's not what excites me. I love it as part of the whole, but if I had to talk business all day I'd get burnt out real quick.

Adjust your path. Keep the changes you're liking and redesign what isn't you.

Is it just part of the process? 

Sometimes when you begin to see the change becoming real you freak out because it's different. It's like when you get hired at your dream job and before you start you worry that you won't be good at it. What if you don't like who you work with? What if they figure out you're not qualified enough and they fire you?

Keep going. You deserve this.

Create change that excites you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Richie

Creative. Foodie. Embracer of weirdness. Certified energy practitioner who takes the complicated out of healing. I untangle emotions and heal soul trauma, beliefs, & thoughts that were created to protect you, but now hold you back.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.