Motivation logo

Impulse

We are rarely wrong when we act from impulse.

By Michelle TafadzwaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Interesting things happen when the creative impulse is cultivated with curiosity, freedom and intensity – Saul Bass

Three years ago, I met Aritha through our networking company. At that time she was just a mere business partner but I am so glad that we have nurtured that business relationship to a point where it has blossomed into friendship. She has such a huge personality and wherever she goes, she just has to introduce herself to the next person. At first, I didn’t know how to act around her. I often felt exposed but all of that has since rubbed off. When you meet her , you will know what I am talking about. So, on one of the late night calls that we occasionally have, she shared with me, some of her take-home points from a business lunch hosted by Margaret Hirsh, she had attended earlier that day. The passion she exuded in her narration, just lit an uncontainable curiosity in me. I wanted to know who this host was, what they do for a living and whether they host similar events in Gauteng. I wanted to sound as excited for the future as my friend did.

Thank heavens for the internet! Immediately, I jumped onto google and the stuff that I learnt of this woman was mind-blowing. Apart from being of Zimbabwean origin, I connected with her determination to give back to community, how she is perceived to be a "Jack of all trades" and the fact that she has built a multi-billion rand empire. All these traits, connect to my vision for the future and I was dying for an opportunity just to sit under her voice and pick a nugget or two. Believe it or not, two days down the line, I literally came across an advert for the Margret Hirsch’s Women in Business Awards which I later learnt that they are an annual event hosted to celebrate and empower women. Yes! My opportunity was here , finally.

I did not stop for a second to even think about the venue, how to get there, attire and who to attend the awards with. Nope. In a flash, I grabbed my bank card and immediately bought my ticket online. For some weird reason , I told myself to act fast because I feared being told that the event had been sold out. Well, now with the ticket sitting in my inbox, like a mighty flood, in came the negative thoughts again. I was not going to give in and besides, it was too late, I had already spent non-refundable money on the ticket. I had decided I was going solo.

There are things you do sometimes, actions that you take by obeying sudden impulses , without stopping for even a fraction of a second to think ,and then you spend the rest of your life either lamenting it or thanking yourself for it. They are rare,unique and perfect moments-Irene Gonzalez Fori

You may not know, I am working my business currently part time around my pharmacy job. The awards fell on a Friday evening which happened to be my weekend on duty. I really could have used this as an excuse not to stay out late but I had made up my mind, just like Aritha, to introduce myself to other women in business on that night. Such a big event would have had to have a befitting theme: African Queen. I am so grateful to have had the chance to be dressed so elegantly, by yours truly, Aritha. This look ,just elevated my confidence and one of my highlights for the evening was when Margret complimented my look and asked for us to take a photo together. Day made!

Being in a massive auditorium, filled with hundreds of women (men were also in attendance) who are well sought after, globally, who were being acknowledged for the work they are doing in communities and who are making serious monies in their businesses, did not shrink me neither did it make me invisible. Instead it stirred an excitement for the future. I could literally smell the possibility of such success in the near future. You should have seen me screaming and applauding those being recognised, as though I knew them personally. One day, I want to be celebrated in a similar fashion.

Today, I have amazing connections with some incredible women. We are now following each other’s journeys closely. I am thanking myself for buying that ticket at an impulse.

When was the last time you did something at an impulse ? Without overthinking things? Do you want to start a blog? Want to meet new people? Perhaps want to reach out to a business coach? Thinking of going on a trip overseas? Want to give love a chance?

Just do it! Often you will regret not having jumped in earlier.

I am Michelle Tafadzwa

advice
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Tafadzwa

*A budding author and motivational speaker

*Help women create lives that are aligned with who they are and what they want. *

*Pharmacist by profession

*Based in South Africa

*Books and Travel set my heart on fire

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.