Motivation logo

I Watched a Spider Not Kill a Fly Today

While sitting on the toilet

By Adonis RichardsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
image loaded by pixabay

This morning I was taking my morning poop in my bathroom when I witnessed the most peculiar sight. I saw a spider not kill a fly today. I witnessed this extraordinary experience while enjoying my guilty pleasure getting lost in my thoughts and ambitions for the day without my cellular device of mass anxiety.

The spider was blissfully crawling up the bathroom wall, in the top left corner of the bathroom was a hole in which I presumed it was making its way to. Suddenly, it stopped mere inches away from the dark escape. The hole seemed too small for this marvelous creature to snuggle into, but superman changes in a phone booth, therefore space is irrelevant. It was then that I witnessed the event.

I saw this little fly buzz their way towards the arachnid. My eyes lit up as I was about to play witness to one of nature's most beautiful experiences. The fly crept closer to the spider and the anticipation made me shudder completely. As the crescendo came closer to the climax, I was at the end of my seat. the fly was basically on the spider's leg, begging for the vampire to savagely drain its veins…

And… nothing!!!

The climactic beginning to an ordinary day did not occur. The spider simply shook the creature off them and began spinning a web. I was disappointed, hurt almost. Yet still fascinated.

Why? Why did the fly not die? Why did the spider not capitalize upon the prey right before its eyes? Was it not hungry? Was the fly not it's type?

As I wiped my bottom I inquired on so many scenarios as my mind does all the time. Dazzled, yet confused at the sight I just witnessed.

It makes you wonder, not everything that comes your way is for you to eat, some meals are best left alone for your better hygiene.

I learned so much in this wondrous moment of ecstasy and anticipation. everything I thought knew about nature was shattered completely by this experience. However, I was both surprised and not surprised at the same time. I anticipated the satisfaction of a glorious death at the hands of nature's guilty pleasures. what I saw was a creature unbothered by the annoyance of what they consider to be prey at the moment.

It was an amazing visual that reveals so much, and I'm happy to have witnessed it.

The lesson

As I viewed this scene of intense fear and confusion I thought of the many experiences in life that people encounter. There are a myriad of scenarios in which one would think that a certain execution is necessary, however that's not always the case. I sat back and thought of all the scenarios in my life in which I would expect one outcome and a completely different incident occurred. As I witnessed this spider fend off the feeble fly I learned a valuable lesson. It’s okay to not execute the expected outcome every time.

Life is unpredictable, and you just have to enjoy the moment while it lasts. Places, people, interactions, nothing is set in stone. There is no set path that one has to take. And not everything is what it seems. Maybe the spider wasn’t hungry, so killing the fly wasn’t it’s priority. Maybe the fly wasn’t the type of fly the spider likes, therefore The spider simply didn’t want to eat it. We will never know.

All we know is that the spider didn’t want the fly, making the possible reasons will throw us for a loop. I take it like this, what happens when you’re experiencing another person and you and said person fall out. There’s no clarity as to why the two of you stopped talking, so the millions of possibilities as to why run around in the head. Instead of thinking hard on why there was a fallout, sometimes we have to think, it wasn’t meant to be, therefore, it just faded out. Sometimes that’s the scenario, simple yes, but true.

Why didn’t the spider kill the fly? I may never know, nevertheless, I enjoyed the moment and was fascinated the entire time.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Adonis Richards

An aspiring writer and journalist looking to motivate people through my writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.