Motivation logo

I Was Invited To Give Up Dairy For An Entire Week: The Lowdown (Memoir)

It is not for everyone. A New lease on life beckons though. I must have mild lactose intolerance.

By Justine CrowleyPublished about a year ago 12 min read
Like
I Was Invited To Give Up Dairy For An Entire Week: The Lowdown (Memoir)
Photo by Clarissa Carbungco on Unsplash

My cheese has been moved (literally). There is no need to cry over spilt milk, because there really isn't any. It is canny how opportunities come to you when you ask some quality questions. Based on the title of this article; all of this is quite personal and intimate. Quitting dairy (going cold turkey on dairy) for nine days straight was no easy feat. It was all in the name of losing a bit of weight, as well as gaining a bit of moolah from a paid research project on the effects of consuming lactose on the digestive system in particular. Some really cool coin was offered as an incentive, as well as the golden opportunity to rise to yet another almost impossible challenge, and here we are.

By Fernando Andrade on Unsplash

It was all well and good to have a few days notice to prepare for the study, yet it was a profound and initially motivating way to kick off February 2023. Twelve hours prior to the start of the first visit to the testing/research facility; I had to wean myself off dairy completely, yet I went one better and did this for 26 hours before the first appointment time, so to make things a little easier on myself, and on my body.

According to the Cleveland Clinic, normal hydrogen values in a healthy digestive system is less than 16ppm (points per million). The way to measure this is to exhale (breathe out) into a cardboard tube (no different to cops pulling you over for a random breath test, to see if you have been driving under the influence) for 15 seconds, with your mouth covering the tube, after you have taken a few deep breaths in. Upon my first appointment on a summery Thursday morning, my hydrogen levels was zero ppm. The accuracy of this reading was questioned at first, yet it was an accurate one. Then the time came for the urine sample, followed by a 250ml glass of cold milk to drink. It was a bit of a struggle to finish it off. The aim was to do that, no matter how long it took. All in all, that process took around 5-10 minutes. I will then given a 600ml bottle of chilled spring water to consume for the next three hours, and the caveat was that I had to fast completely, and only drink water. I also had some water left of my 1.5 litre alkalinity water prior.

By Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

There is no better opportunity than to be a lady of leisure for the next three hours, and I have zero regrets about commuting to a nearby beach, and earthing my feet in the sand, and in the shallow end of the ocean for some of that time. Provided I was (ideally) back a few minutes early for the next hydrogen testing and pee-in-a-cup session; the facilitators of this project did not care about how I (and the other participants in this pilot study) spent the next three hours, provided I only drank water.

By David Becker on Unsplash

Apart from getting a bit sunburnt, my beach time was a success, and I was beginning to get a but hungry about 45 minutes before heading back to the testing facility for another hydrogen test, where this time my results came in at 12ppm. Still in the healthy range. Isn't it fascinating how a simple 250ml glass of full cream dairy milk can cause my hydrogen levels to jump from zero to 12ppm? After the urine stuff, then it was time to complete a quick questionnaire on how my body was feeling in response to having drunk that glass of milk a few hours ago, distinct from the fasting experience.

From then on in, I could consume anything I wanted to, yet I had to stay off dairy completely for another seven (7) days. That was harder than anticipated, even though I felt a little lighter, and really well. It was also helpful to have lost half a kilo of body fat from that first fasting experience. This is not an easy past time, as many foods are made with traces of dairy, even if dairy is not the main ingredient. Hidden dairy is also lurking in foods we eat as well. Think milk buns in burgers for examples, and yogurt dressing sachets in packed salads, even though consuming the raw salad itself is fine, and so on. (As per the below image, minus the sauce).

By Anna Pelzer on Unsplash

A staple diet of raw nuts, raw vegetables, fruits (bananas, cherries, blackberries, and blueberries only), oat yoghurt, and plant based milks with granola was it. All went according to plan, until the third day, when migraine like headaches (I suspect from a lack of Vitamin B12) was real, combined with general withdrawal symptoms with a fake sense of fatigue, combined with some muscle aches and pains; even though I was getting ample amounts of protein and calcium from the staple diet itself. Just drinking plenty of water, and a couple of cups of hibiscus and apple tea also helped.

By Maja Petric on Unsplash

The third night in, I was craving a cooked roast chicken, and I was fortunate to eat that, even though I am not much of a meat eater at the best of times.

Caving into that craving was worth it. A couple of nights later, the headaches weaned off, and the withdrawal symptoms eased, even though I was still struggling to sleep well most nights, despite feeling better. The night after craving that hot roast chook; I had to wake up at 2am to consume a fair amount of raw nuts. Interestingly enough, my business started to pick up, and became prosperous again after a quiet January.

Then again a 26,000 step walking day to and from the closest beach to my place was also included as a pleasant distraction. I was surprised that I did not salivate like a needy dog when I walked past some loved dairy products at the supermarket, or when I was either at, or passing through a cafe where dairy loaded dishes (including eggs on toast) were passing by my very own two eyes. It goes to show that some of us are mentally and emotionally strong people. Us humans are capable of doing anything that we set our minds to. Then again, I needed a coffee on my last day of eating dairy free. No problem, almond milk saved the day. And my business, possibly. (The latter statement is a joke.)

By Ibrahim Boran on Unsplash

On the days I had to work, I could not stop eating in order to stay full. Two days before the second and final session (hydrogen test, and urine sample) at the research facility; I had a fourteen hour shift in my own business, and I completely raided my fridge. A massive box of cherries were supposed to last me until I could eat dairy again, yet my metabolism and ghrelin had other ideas. In continuing to be real, raw (no pun intended), and honest with you dear reader; it was tough living on nine standard pieces of raw fish (sashimi) for dinner the night before I could start eating dairy again. I made it this far, and there were two proverbial carrot sticks dangling for me to enjoy a mere 24 hours later; firstly, knowing in true fashion that I did not give up on myself, and that I actually did my body a huge favour in detoxing; and secondly, some healthy cash ($300 plus, tax free) had my name all over it as a reward for completing the assignment, and with my actions speaking louder than words in actually giving up dairy.

The sensations, and the experience was no different to giving up processed sugar (fructose), but without a bridging period at all.

By Enrico Mantegazza on Unsplash

On the second morning (a week later) of testing the hydrogen ppm levels in my body; and despite the weather being quite wintery, and with having no bowel movements that morning; my ppm was zero again. Coming back to the facility after my three-hour fast on the very last day; knowing that hours later I can leave unrestricted eating in the ballpark; my hydrogen ppm increased from 12 to 14, even though I did not struggle to drink the second glass (250mls) of cold full cream milk this time around. I had no side effects either, apart from the fact that I was hungry for the first 45 minutes of the second three hour fasting experience. For the second fasting experience, it was too cold and wet to go to the beach, and therefore I hung around the local mall; this time doing a little bit work on my laptop, as well as making a few calls, and taking care of a bit of important life admin. Additionally, I engaged in a bit of retail therapy (just buying a candle, and a small amount of some goji berries covered in dark chocolate), as well as getting a haircut and my eyebrows waxed. That three hours flew by, and before I knew it, my incentive was in my hot little hands. I was congratulated for being the first person/participant on this project to successfully quit dairy for nine days straight in my case. The research staff really appreciated that. This was because the person who was booked in before me for these tests on both Thursday's did not make it; they dropped out, as quitting dairy for seven days straight was a bit too much for that person. As a result, I was invited to stay back for a 30-minute interview (which I got paid more money for), of which I had to complete without having had any food for five hours at that time; and I got through it with ease and grace. It was awesome to know that a few other participants successfully completed this mission not long after yours truly had.

By Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

The side effects mentioned of quitting dairy for nine days straight (from the 1st to the 9th of February 2023 inclusive) made living a little more challenging from the norm; yet the positive effects of feeling more energised, vibrant, and losing a bit of weight, as well having a healthier relationship of food made this experience well worth it. The money made from this experiment was a bonus. Additionally, my blood pressure went down from normal high to normal optimum, which is below normal. That is something worth celebrating.

Did I wean back onto dairy and eating some not so healthy foods straight away? Not really, but kind of. I held some restraint though. I really needed a hamburger and chips from a cafe. That was a treat to reward myself for sticking the course. My vitamin B12 levels are now restored as a result, for someone who is mainly a plant based eater in the first place. Shame about the beetroot causing a mess, and thereby soaking the heel of the bun. That, and a small drop of moscato did it. From the moment I could eat dairy again, I only ate a piece of melted cheese, and a burger bun. The sauce could have dairy in it too.

By Mae Mu on Unsplash

Two days have passed since (as at the time of writing this), and out of the foods that contain dairy; I have only eaten a small Kit Kat rabbit, and some yoghurt salad dressing. Right now I am enjoying a take away latte with full cream milk. That is it.

I am in no mad rush to return to eating as much dairy and hidden dairy as I used to eat before this experiment. A little bit here, and a little bit there is ok. Everything in moderation as always. Now it is taking me longer just to eat a small amount of milk chocolate, and I am satisfied from eating that. I am fuller for longer now with all the foods I eat. It is like needing to share a cafe serving of caesar salad with a friend now. I am still craving healthy, raw foods, and dairy free milk and yoghurt alternatives as much as possible. No regrets. I am still feeling good, and I am sure that the momentum will continue from that nine day sacrifice, which included hours of intermittent fasting. Food is just fuel now, and it is nice to eat whatever I want to again, without having to second guess my decision; especially while eating out.

By shawnanggg on Unsplash

Now to the million dollar question: would I do this again? Absolutely. We all have different risk appetites, yet life is a risk full-stop. If I had to quit dairy (or even gluten) for longer than nine days; I can do it. Same with chocolate and coffee (my two biggest vices in life). There is satisfaction in knowing that my sacrifice was worth it in helping other people either recover from illness (especially C19, and long C), and/or to improve the quality of their life, and have more energy, of which has a positive knock on effect in other life areas that truly matter. Remember, like anything tough, you need a motivational reason as to why to get you through it. Money is not a big motivator. When I helped people quit smoking as a therapist, money (or the high cost of such d*ugs) was never a motivator for quitting, because us humans can always attract the money for what we really need or want in life. The need to have more energy from recovering from you know what at long last was a massive motivator for me, as well as removing a bit of stubborn body fat that would not budge, despite my BMI being in the healthy range. Again, money is a bonus in such situations. You may not agree and think that money is a sole motivator; yet to accomplish such difficult feats in life, money is not to be a sole motivator; otherwise it could set you up for defeat.

This song just sums it all up. There were some ups and downs in this experience, yet the journey paved the way for the continuation of a really good life, and a now healthier body for the good life to continue. It was all an adventure; no different to how this artist ended up in London, according to the below song. Dairy, you have just been downgraded from being in my life more often to now barely ever. And this song is upbeat, and one you might want to dance to (however, just ignore the S word that comes up a few times. Otherwise the lyrics are clean. Thanks Vocal Media.)

Would you be willing to quit dairy for at least seven days? Why or why not? Feel free to share in the comments if you wish. Best wishes, and thank you for sticking around, and in reading this memoir of an article until the end, as much as I enjoyed writing, and in putting this piece together for you. Thank you.

By Howie R on Unsplash

success
Like

About the Creator

Justine Crowley

Freelance Internet Moderator/UX Writer/UX Consulting Designer/Graphic Designer

http://smashwords.com/profile/view/JustineCrowley

linkedin.com/in/justinecrowley

Lives in Sydney, Australia. Loves life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.